to top 10 table

Best Keratin Treatments Reviewed and Rated for Quality

last updated: Apr 29, 2019

Who doesn’t want smooth, silky, luscious locks? Well, with a keratin treatment, you can get just that. We all have natural keratin in our hair but over time and with damage we can lose it along with some of our hair’s natural luster and shine. Getting a keratin treatment is a great way to restore that lost keratin and get your shine back. While these treatments aren’t meant for everyone, especially those with thin, straight hair already, it is an amazing product for those of us with thicker, more textured hair. Not only will a treatment result in straighter, shinier locks, but it will also cut down on styling time and make your hair more manageable. It’s important to note that some of these treatments are meant for professional use and unless you are a professional, they should not be used at home.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Moroccan Keratin
100/100 our score
Application
100
Effectiveness
100
Materials
100
Protection
100
Value
100
Moroccan Keratin
Why is it better?

Comes with clarifying shampoo for use before treatment

Comes with sulfate free shampoo and conditioner for after treatment

Specialized formulas for different types of hair

Easy to apply

Lasts between 4 and 7 months

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Moroccan Keratin
Test Winner: Moroccan Keratin
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1300
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Application Effectiveness Materials Protection Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Application
100 %
Effectiveness
100 %
Materials
100 %
Protection
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$44.78
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Application
99 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Materials
99 %
Protection
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$59.88
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Application
98 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Materials
98 %
Protection
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$39.97
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Application
98 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Materials
97 %
Protection
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$30.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Application
96 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Materials
96 %
Protection
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$24.43
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Application
95 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Materials
94 %
Protection
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$19.98
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Application
94 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Materials
93 %
Protection
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$37.27
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Application
90 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Materials
90 %
Protection
90 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$150.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Application
88 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Materials
88 %
Protection
89 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$38.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Application
90 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Materials
85 %
Protection
87 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.11.20)
Amazon Link
$6.50

10 Best Keratin Treatments

1. Moroccan Keratin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Moroccan Keratin
Amazon Link
Application
100
Effectiveness
100
Materials
100
Protection
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.78
Pros:

Comes with clarifying shampoo for use before treatment

Comes with sulfate free shampoo and conditioner for after treatment

Specialized formulas for different types of hair

Easy to apply

Lasts between 4 and 7 months

Cons:

Reviewers comment about the fumes and highly recommend applying outside or in a super large room with ventilation.

We absolutely love Moroccan Keratin. It is one of the only products out there that is formulated in different intensities for different hair types and it comes with absolutely everything you need to get the application process just right. It is meant for professional use only.

Comes with All 4 Products Needed for Application
Moroccan Keratin is quick and easy to apply and comes with every liquid product that you need to make sure you get the most out of treatment. First, you use the Clarifying Shampoo. This pulls out all impurities from the hair and prepares it for treatment and for absorbing as much of the keratin complexes as possible. Next, apply the Keratin Hair Treatment to all of your hair and follow heat locking instructions. After treatment, be sure to always use the sulfate free shampoo and conditioner that comes with this set! Test the keratin treatment on a small part of your hair to make sure it doesn’t cause any allergic reactions. Always apply in a room that is well-ventilated.

Different Formulas for all Hair Types
We all know that there are tons of different hair types out there, but you may not have realized that there are actual classifications for hair. Moroccan Keratin actually takes each hair type into account when making their treatments. There is wavy hair (2A-2C), curly hair (3A-3C), and kinky coily hair (4A-4C). Every treatment that Moroccan Keratin produces can handle hair up to a 3C, but you’ll need to get the special FORTE compound if you are looking to treat hair from 4A to 4C. If you select the correct compound for your hair type and follow all instructions provided during the application process, then your treatment should last between about 4 and 7 months.

Cost and Value
The Moroccan Keratin Hair Treatment set rings up in the middle of our price range and we absolutely love its value because it is specialized for different hair types and because it comes with every single liquid product that you need to get the best results from your keratin treatment.

2. Keratin Research

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Keratin Research
Amazon Link
Application
99
Effectiveness
99
Materials
99
Protection
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.88
Pros:

Quick and easy to apply

Nourishes and conditions while straightening

Researched compound for safety and effectiveness

Great Pricepoint

Cons:

Some users report being bothered by the smell

Some reports of having allergic reactions to the product. Make sure you read the label in detail to catch any potential allergens.

The Keratin Research Treatment is one of our favorite products that we have come across in our research. This specialized formula works quickly and can last up to 6 months. It is meant for professional use only.

Argan Oil and Coconut Oil Compound
The Keratin Research Treatment is comprised of a special compound that has been researched and tested to be as safe and effective as possible. It combines coconut oil, argan oil, complex amino acids, and proteins to bring you nourishment and shine. This treatment is designed to deeply condition and restore your hair from within. After application, your hair is guaranteed to be more vibrant, flexible, and easy to work with.

Takes 1-3 Hours to Apply
The Keratin Research Treatment is advertised as an “Express Formula” because it works faster and can be applied more quickly than other products on the market. The application process takes between 1-3 hours depending on a few factors. The more experienced your hairdresser is, the faster the process will go. The longer and thicker the hair, the longer the process. The treatment is to be applied to all of your hair evenly, dried in with a hair dryer, and then locked in with a super hot flat ironing process. In order to get the best results, ensure that the flat iron reaches and maintains a temperature of about 450 degrees. During the flat ironing process, the product will be evaporated and steam will be emitted. This is normal, but it may bother your eyes and nose. Remember to always test the product on a small area first to ensure that you don’t have any adverse reactions to it.

Cost and Value
The Keratin Research Treatment rings up in the high middle of our price range and we love it because it delivers super deep conditioning to repair the hair and it is quick and easy to apply. It also takes tons of time out of your daily styling.

3. Keranique Shampoo and Conditioner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Keranique Shampoo and Conditioner
Amazon Link
Application
98
Effectiveness
98
Materials
98
Protection
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.97
Pros:

Great for daily use

Can be used as post salon keratin treatment maintenance and care

Meant to be used by those with thinning hair

Deep scalp cleansing revitalized follicles and encourages new hair growth

Controls frizz without weighing your hair down

May help hair to grow faster

Cons:

Some users don't believe it made their hair thicker

The Keranique Shampoo and Conditioner Set is free of sulfates and works at the scalp to remove impurities and to encourage hair growth. Without the harsh chemicals that other products on the market use, you can rest assured that this treatment will nourish your hair and help to rejuvenate it.

No Sulfates, Parabens, or Dyes
The Keranique Shampoo and Conditioner Set is free of sulfates, parabens, and dyes that damage the hair and strip away essential nutrients that can leave your hair looking dead and dry. The specially designed compounds in both the shampoo and conditioner will leave your hair looking nourished without weighing it down like heavier conditioners. Though the formula is meant to deeply clean the scalp, it is a gentle clean that will rejuvenate your scalp and encourage hair growth making this a great product for those with thinning and damaged hair. And the balanced moisture in the shampoo and conditioner will keep your hair from frizzing up all day long.

Great for Daily Care
The Keranique Shampoo and Conditioner Set is great for post salon keratin treatments and for those just looking to revitalize their scalp and hair as well. You can use these products on a daily basis without worrying about your hair drying out or being weighed down by the conditioner. The more frequently you use the product, the more hair growth you stand to see.

Cost and Value
The Keranique Shampoo and Conditioner Set rings up in the middle of our price range and we love it because it offers daily nourishment and protection for your hair and also because it revitalizes hair follicles on the scalp to encourage new hair growth for people with thinning hair.

4. Awapuhi Wild Ginger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Awapuhi Wild Ginger
Amazon Link
Application
98
Effectiveness
97
Materials
97
Protection
97
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.00
Pros:

Salon quality treatment in your home

Weekly treatment that only takes about 5 minutes

Restores hair vitality without having to sit in the salon for hours

Low price point

Packed with nourishing compounds

Cons:

While most reviewers love the smell of this product, some found it unpleasant.

The Awapuhi Wild Ginger Keratin Intensive Treatment is brought to you by John Paul Mitchell Systems so you know you’re going to be getting a salon-quality product that is guaranteed to work by professionals. This isn’t a traditional keratin treatment product, but reviews were so raving we had to put it on our list--way up on our list!

Keratin, Amino Acids, and White Ginger
The Awapuhi Wild Ginger Keratin Intensive Treatment is a weekly conditioning repair treatment that is packed with a lot of the same goodies that a traditional keratin treatment is loaded with. We’re talking keratin, amino acids, and some lovely white ginger for a deep repair and rejuvenation that you will be amazed by. This is not just for people who have had a full keratin treatment on their hair. This product can be used by anyone who has damaged hair and is ideal for those who have serious heat and color damage. It works in much the same way as a keratin treatment but at a fraction of the cost and time. It restores your hairs natural proteins so that you can enjoy a healthy shine.

Weekly Treatment
This treatment is meant to be used about once a week. Use it in the shower and let sit for about 5 minutes before rinsing it out. Make sure you rinse thoroughly as it’s a heavy cream and could weigh down your hair if you don’t get it all out. Some reviewers state that they leave the cream in overnight for even better results. While we don’t suggest using the product in a way other than that indicated on the package, we are intrigued! This is truly a safe and easy way to restore health to your hair and to make styling and maintenance easier.

Cost and Value
The Awapuhi Wild Ginger Keratin Intensive Treatment rings up at the bottom of our price range and while we know it’s not a typical treatment, it is a great way to restore and maintain your hair’s natural healthy luster week after week. We love that it makes hair care easy and that it brings salon quality home.

5. Simply Smooth Xtend Potion

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Simply Smooth Xtend Potion
Amazon Link
Application
96
Effectiveness
96
Materials
96
Protection
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.43
Pros:

Daily use that won’t weigh your hair down

Will extend the life of your salon keratin treatment

Sprays evenly

Fills in stripped and damaged hair to make untangling and styling a breeze

Cons:

Some reviewers believe that this product only works if you use it on a regular basis.

The Simply Smooth Xtend Potion really is magic and it really does work. This is another at-home daily treatment that will help restore your hair magically back to its healthy, lustrous state.

High-Quality Collagen and Keratin
The Simply Smooth Xtend Potion is infused with botanicals and high-quality collagen and keratin to give your hair the nutrition it needs to shine at its best. These ingredients fill in stripped and damaged hair leaving it smooth, radiant, and easy to style and detangle. We love that you can use this product every day and that it sprays on evenly and with ease. And we also love that it won’t wear your hair down or leave it feeling oily after use.

Use with Keratin Treatment or Alone
This product can be used after you have received a salon keratin treatment to extend the life of your treatment, or it can be used without having gotten a keratin treatment at the salon to provide daily nutrition and love to your hair. Simply spray evenly over the hair and watch frizz fade away. This is also your best friend if you’re looking for a great detangler. Remember to keep the spray away from your eyes and do not breath in the spray directly.

Cost and Value
The Simply Smooth Xtend Potion rings up at the low end of our price range and we love it because it can extend the life of your salon keratin treatment while also functioning as a daily reparative treatment and as a protective barrier between your hair and heat.

6. Vitamins Hair Mask

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Vitamins Hair Mask
Amazon Link
Application
95
Effectiveness
94
Materials
94
Protection
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.98
Pros:

Use 1 to 2 times per week for shiny, nourished hair

Comes in 2 different hair type options for maximum effectiveness

Only takes about 10-15 minutes to apply and rinse each time

Natural ingredients

Cruelty-free product

Cons:

Some reviewers were bothered by the smell but loved the product’s effectiveness.

The Vitamins Hair Mask is a wonderful, cruelty-free product that is adored by women and men alike. At Vitamins, they recognize that different hair types need different products and that no animals should suffer on account of beauty. They have been making products for over 70 years and continually work to evolve and deliver the highest quality products specialized for your hair.

Keratin and Argan Oil Hydration
The Vitamins Hair Mask is comprised of keratin and argan oils plus a whole bunch of vitamin E to give your hair all of the nourishment it needs to look and feel its best. These ingredients are well researched and work in harmony together to restore even the dryest and most damaged hair. With advanced essential oils and extracted plant complexes, you can feel good about putting this product on your head.

Great for All Hair Types--Even Thin Hair
The Vitamins Keratin Hair Mask is super easy to use and can be applied 1 to 2 times per week. Simply wash your hair in the shower, towel dry and then apply a palm-sized amount of the mask to your hair, making sure to focus on working it into your ends and scalp, while still coating all of your hair. Wrap a towel around your treated hair to allow the magic to happen. Leave the towel for about 10 minutes and then remove and rinse thoroughly. This product will work for you even in your have thin hair without weighing it down. We love that it comes in two different hair type options--for Thin Fine Hair and for Thick Hair. Make sure to get the hair type option that is right for you to ensure the best results.

Cost and Value
The Vitamins Keratin Hair Mask rings up at the low end of our price range and we love it because it uses natural plant compounds and essential oils, because it is a cruelty-free company, and because it is specialized for different hair types. And we love a salon-quality product that can be used in the comfort of your own home.

7. Keratin Complex Infusion

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Keratin Complex Infusion
Amazon Link
Application
94
Effectiveness
93
Materials
93
Protection
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$37.27
Pros:

Can be used on wet and dry hair

Protects hair from serious heat damage

Can calm frizz even after the hair is styled without weighing it down

Uses natural ingredients

You don’t have to goop it on

Cons:

Some reviewers believe it’s best to use this product in wet hair only and did not like the results when using it on dry hair.

The Keratin Complex Infusion is a styling product that will provide deep nourishment to your hair while protecting it from damaging heat. We love that it can be used on wet and dry hair alike.

Hydrolyzed Keratin to Lock Out Humidity
The Keratin Complex Infusion features hydrolyzed keratin, wheat proteins, and rosemary to nourish and protect your hair before styling. A little goes a long way and will keep your hair looking soft and smooth while locking out humidity all day long. Say goodbye to those stubborn frizzies that ruin a look.

Use on Wet or Dry Hair
The Keratin Complex Infusion can be used on wet and dry hair alike. If you use on wet hair, towel dry first and then distribute a small amount evenly over all of your hair. Now you’re free to blow out your hair and use a flat-iron for styling without having to worry about setting in damage. If your hair is already dry and you notice some unwanted frizz or dead looking hair, apply a little to your palms and smooth over your hair to fix frizz and get a smoother, more nourished look.

Cost and Value
The Keratin Complex Infusion rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love it because it can be used on wet and dry hair. We also love that it serves as a protective barrier between your hair and heat so that you can still get the style you love without having to suffer the damage.

8. Lasio One Day Treatment

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Lasio One Day Treatment
Amazon Link
Application
90
Effectiveness
98
Materials
90
Protection
90
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$150.00
Pros:

Can do this yourself in your own home

Straightforward application process

No harsh chemicals

Infused with amber extract

Multiple uses per bottle

Cons:

Some reviewers commented that they had to leave the solution in for longer to get the results that they wanted.

The Lasio One Day Treatment is the most expensive on our list by far, but it is a true full keratin treatment that you can do yourself in the comfort of your own home and that can last for up to 3 months. Please remember to follow all packaged instructions, to do this is a well-ventilated area, and to tell this product on a small part of your scalp before proceeding to ensure that you don’t develop an allergic reaction.

Infused with Amber Extract
The Lasio One Day Treatment uses high-quality keratin infused with amber extract to give your hair a beyond radiant shine. The gentle formula with tons of antioxidants ensures that your hair won’t be stripped or damaged after the treatment wears off because there are no harmful and harsh chemicals used. Plus, this formula will leave your hair feeling light, not weighed down like with other products on the market. And you can be sure that your hair is being improved over time, not damaged further and covered up.

Full Keratin Treatment in the Comfort of Your Home
This product is a full keratin treatment that you can do yourself, right in the comfort of your own home. To fully complete the process, make sure to follow all instructions on the packaging, but here’s a quick summary. Wash your hair and towel dry. Then apply the product liberally to your entire head, making sure to work all the way to the scalp and all the way down to the ends of your hair. Let this sit in for about 30 minutes. Then blow dry and fully flat-iron all of your hair making sure you get the iron as close to the root as possible. You may want to iron over each strand of hair multiple times. You will need to leave this treatment in for 24 hours before washing it out.

Cost and Value
The Lasio One Day Treatment rings up at the tippy top of our price range but we love it because you can get multiple treatments out of each bottle for about the price as one salon treatment. And you get to do it from the comfort of your home.

9. Keragen Hair Smoothing Treatment

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Keragen Hair Smoothing Treatment
Amazon Link
Application
88
Effectiveness
95
Materials
88
Protection
89
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$38.95
Pros:

Super high-powered formula

A proprietary blend of collagen and keratin

Can provide up to 7 months of silky smooth hair

Can be applied every 6 weeks for booster treatments

Cons:

Seriously--only use in a well-ventilated area or this product will likely burn your eyes.

The Keragen Hair Smoothing Treatment is one of the strongest on the market and we love it because it can deliver up to 7 months of beautifully silky smooth hair. This product is only meant to be used by professionals in a salon. It may contain ingredients that can irritate the skin so test it out on a small area that is hard to see before using it on the whole head to ensure a serious reaction doesn’t take place.

Proprietary Blend of Keratin and Collagen
The Keragen Hair Smoothing Treatment uses a propriety blend of keratin and collagen that is uniquely designed to smooth out hair and leave it looking silky and soft. This is the strongest product on our list so far and can deliver smooth results for up to 7 months if you take great care of your hair after application.

Professional Grade Strength
The Keragen Hair Smoothing Treatment delivers professional-grade results that have a majorly long life. This is a super strong treatment and should only be applied by professionals in a professional setting. There are known irritants in the formula and should be tested out to avoid allergic reactions. Please only use this product in a well-ventilated area to cut down on eye, nose, and throat irritation.

Cost and Value
The Keragen Hair Smoothing Treatment rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love it because it offers up some major strength and has a super long lifespan so that you can be sure to enjoy your keratin treatment for months to come.

10. CHI Smoothing Treatment

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
CHI Smoothing Treatment
Amazon Link
Application
90
Effectiveness
87
Materials
85
Protection
87
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.50
Pros:

Lasts for up to 5 washes and styles

Easy to apply to wet hair

Activated by heat

Provides protection from heat damage

Super inexpensive

Cons:

Some reviewers emphasize that only a small amount of this product is needed. Otherwise, your hair can begin to look oily and fall a bit flat.

The CHI Keratin Smoothing Treatment may be the smallest packaged item on our list but don’t let that fool you. This is a treatment designed to be used before styling and is activated by the heat of your styling instruments. It smooths and protects so that you can still get the look you’re after without all the damaging effects.

Keratin Plus Essential Oils
The CHI Smoothing Treatment combines keratin and essential oils to help fill in stipped hair and to protect hair from future damage while styling. This product can last for up to 5 washes so you won’t have to apply every day to enjoy the awesome benefits.

Apply Before Heat Styling
This is meant to be applied before heat styling to protect damaged and healthy hair alike from future damage caused by hair dryers and flat-irons. While your hair is still wet (after you have towel dried), evenly work a small to medium amount of this product over all of your hair, focusing on the ends and making sure that you haven’t gooped it on. Then proceed with your normal heat styling routine. It is important to note that this product is only activated when combined with a heat styler and works best when used with a flat-iron or curling rod. The effects can last for up to 5 washes and stylings so you only need to apply about once a week.

Cost and Value
This option rings up at the very bottom of our price range and even though she comes in a tiny bottle, she packs a major punch so we love its value. Plus, we like that you can get up to 5 washes and styles out of one application which cuts down on styling time and frees more of your morning up.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Application

When compiling this Ten Best List, we looked at how easy each product was to apply. While a few of the full treatment products on our list are only meant to be applied by salon professionals, some of them can be used at home.
We highlight salon professional full treatments that take only about a maximum of 3 hours to apply because ain't nobody got time for (more than) that.
We also showcase at-home products that can be applied easily to wet hair and activated with your normal heat styling routine so you don’t have to be a trained professional to get salon quality looks.
We love products that don’t need to be applied daily to see the best results.

Effectiveness

Of course, the effectiveness of a product is always a major concern when making our lists. We love products that are highly reviewed by a wide range of people with different hair types. That being said, we know that some products work amazingly on some hair types while not super well on others. That’s why we poured over reviews to explain which products work best for which type of hair. And we obviously love products that feature different formulas for different hair types so you can get the right product for you in the brands you love.

Materials

We only include products that actually include keratin in them. You would be shocked at how many treatments out there claim to be keratin treatments without actually containing keratin!
We also love products that are loaded with collagen, essential oils, minerals, and other naturally derived substances that give serious results without seriously damaging your hair.
As also, we love products that are free of sulfates, dyes, and parabens which can be dangerous and damaging to your hair--especially over time.
It is important to note that some of the high-powered salon full treatment solutions contain known irritants and that you should always test a product on a small and inconspicuous region of your scalp to ensure that you aren’t allergic to any of the ingredients before applying to your entire head.

Protection

We love products that restore your hair and continue to protect your hair, leaving your hair more nourished than before and preventing that dried out look post-treatment. We especially love home-care products that can be applied before heat styling to protect from heating damage and to restore hair from prior heating damage.

Value

We love the value of the products on this list. Not only can you get multiple uses out of each of these products, but you are really investing in the health of your hair and purchasing any of these products will serve to protect your hair in the future.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Only Use Sulfate Free Shampoos and Conditioners

If you get a full salon keratin treatment, you should only use sulfate free shampoos and conditioners after your treatment if you would like your treatment to last. Using shampoos and conditioners with sulfates will strip your hair of the keratin (probably why your hair needed the treatment in the first place) and will cause your hair to revert back to its old ways.

Only Use Full Treatments in Well-Ventilated Areas

As we mentioned before, a few of the high-powered salon full treatments contain known irritants and should only be applied outdoors or in well-ventilated areas to cut back on the possibility of eye, nose, and throat irritation.

Other Factors to Consider

Potency

We looked at how strong each product on our list is and how long each product lasts. We do our best to highlight each of these standards for each product so that you can get the product that best suits your needs.

Safety Hazards

As we already mentioned, for your safety you should only use salon products in the salon and you should always test a product out in a small area before using it to ensure that you don’t have an allergic reaction to any of the ingredients.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I use a professional product at home?

a:

Unless you are a professional, you shouldn’t use a professional product at home. Doing so is not only dangerous, but it may also result in your severely damaging your hair and having to go get it saved by a professional anyway.

q: Is keratin safe?

a:

Keratin is a natural compound that is already found in your hair but that can be stripped away over time with harsh cleansers and heat damage. Keratin itself is safe to use and your hair will love it! Just make sure to read the label of every product to look for other ingredients that you may be allergic to or not want to use.

q: How often can I get a keratin treatment?

a:

Each product on our list comes with suggested lifespans and time between uses. But since all of us are different, the exact amount of time between treatments may vary. Just be sure that you are using sulfate free products and following all care instructions so that you get the longest life out of your treatment possible. Most people go to get touch up treatments every 3 to 4 months to keep their hair at its shiniest.