to top 10 table

Best Insect Foggers Reviewed for Effectiveness

last updated Apr 02, 2019

Insect foggers are one of those things that regular folks should treat with utmost care. There is the reality that you are dealing with something that releases a deadly fog of death to all the insects that come into its area of effect. so you know right away that stuffs dangerous so be careful. That being said we know too many people who have come home from vacation to be welcomed by an infestation of fleas or roaches and the only thing that we're going to allow in our homes are kids, dogs, and guests. Humans win! So, with that in mind, we offer you the best of the best when it comes to ridding your home of the kinds of pests that simply cannot be allowed a foothold in your home or yard.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
 Raid Deep Reach
95.2/100 our score
Style
96
Application
95
Size
94
Ease of Use
96
Value
95
Raid Deep Reach
Why is it better?

Long term extermination for up to two months

Non-staining no mess formula

Penetrates deep down to exterminate insects

Very effective

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Raid Deep Reach
Test Winner: Raid Deep Reach
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Style Application Size Ease of Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Style
96%
Application
95%
Size
94%
Ease of Use
96%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$11.90
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Style
95%
Application
95%
Size
94%
Ease of Use
93%
Value
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$10.12
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Style
93%
Application
94%
Size
92%
Ease of Use
93%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$249.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Style
92%
Application
91%
Size
93%
Ease of Use
91%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$12.67
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Style
90%
Application
91%
Size
88%
Ease of Use
87%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$289.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Style
85%
Application
84%
Size
83%
Ease of Use
85%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$229.65
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Style
81%
Application
82%
Size
81%
Ease of Use
83%
Value
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Style
80%
Application
79%
Size
81%
Ease of Use
80%
Value
79%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$72.36
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
Style
79%
Application
78%
Size
79%
Ease of Use
77%
Value
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$92.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
Style
74%
Application
73%
Size
74%
Ease of Use
72%
Value
71%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.05.19)
$198.68
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Raid Deep Reach
  • Hot Shot Indoor Fogger
  • Createch USA Tri Jet ULV
  • EcoSmart Mosquito Fogger
  • New Invatech Backpack Fogger
  • Hudson 99598 Electric
  • Silver Bullet ULV Fogger
  • Bonide 420 Fog-Rx
  • Hudson 62691 Fog
  • Longray Basic ULV Fogger
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Best Insect Foggers

1. Raid Deep Reach

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
 Raid Deep Reach
Style
96
Application
95
Size
94
Ease of Use
96
Value
95
best offer for today
$11.90
Pros:

Long term extermination for up to two months

Non-staining no mess formula

Penetrates deep down to exterminate insects

Very effective

Cons:

Very toxic

Not meant for bigger infestations

RAID? I know Raid. Who hasn't heard of them? That kind of recognition is usually a good thing. It tells you right away that you are buying a quality product that will most likely do the job you need it to. Since it's on this list, it's a good bet that this fogger is no exception. If you're in the market for a fogger for a smaller, more domestic problem, you can't go wrong tossing this into your cart.

Read more

Gets right in there.
Unfortunately, if you have an infestation, the insects you can see are generally just the tip of the iceberg. It's down in the cracks and recesses of your home where the problem really lies. That's why the makers of this Raid fogger designed it to seep into those cracks, exterminating the heart of the matter so it doesn't keep creeping back.

Keeps on working
With a lot of pest control products, they do their job on contact, and then that's about it. The bugs came back? Buy more and do it again. Not this time. Raid made sure that this stuff would get rid of the problem right away, and then stick around for up to two months. You know, just in case.

Cost and Value
There are a few other products of the same type with a similar price point, while I wouldn't necessarily sing their praises in terms of value, this one is different. This one was made by a trusted company with decades of experience. You know what you're getting, and sometimes that's all you need.

2. Hot Shot Indoor Fogger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
 Hot Shot Indoor Fogger
Style
95
Application
95
Size
94
Ease of Use
93
Value
93
best offer for today
$10.12
Pros:

Convenient three pack

Easy cleanup

Neutralizes odors

Exterminates on contact

Cons:

A bit pricey

Meant for smaller areas

This one is really unique in that it uses a dry fog to exterminate, as opposed to a spray or traditional fog. This makes it no less effective, though the coverage is a bit reduced, so keep that in mind. What’s good about that is there's no messy cleanup of oily residue, and it includes an odor neutralizer. This goes far above and beyond to offer a hard-working product.

Read more

No Smell.
The dry fog formula used in the HotShot Fogger not only cleans up well, but it will also blanket the area, helping to eliminate nasty odors left by your new housemates or even pre-existing smells you had no idea about.

Cleans up quick
Now that you've used a fogger to get rid of pests, how do you get rid of the mess it leaves? The spray has to somewhere, and that's usually a greasy smear on your walls and floors. The HotShot fogger luckily doesn't leave that mess.

Cost and Value
I can usually find great value in everything I review, but this one is a bit of a hard sell. That's not to say the product isn't any good. It does its intended job well and comes packed with three cans for convenience. The tough part is the cost is high for the relatively small area this stuff covers.

3. Createch USA Tri Jet ULV

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
 Createch USA Tri Jet ULV
Style
93
Application
94
Size
92
Ease of Use
93
Value
91
best offer for today
$249.99
Pros:

Comes out cold, not hot and foggy

Can use both water- and oil-based solutions

Up to thirty feet of coverage from the nozzle

Good choice for mold control

Cons:

Adjustment knob tough to turn

Not as durable as others

This is a big shiny change of pace from the smaller household foggers we took a look at up above. This beast is much better suited to large-scale, long-term jobs, and just judging by its appearance, it seems to be more than up to the task. Looks aren't everything though, and this fogger has been designed for the harshest environments. It uses a cold, nonthermal dispersion, resulting in a fine mist that coats the area, as opposed to the usual fog that can get everywhere.

Read more

Great coverage
This is meant as a stationary fogger, not one to be carried around. That's okay though because you'll get up to thirty feet of coverage, making sure to get every little square inch coated and protected from those unwanted critters.

Cold, not hot.
It doesn't seem like such a big deal but think about it for a second. As a cold solution, it comes out in a fine mist that blankets the target area. When it's hot, it comes out like a fog, which will cover the area but will also go everywhere else, causing a nuisance at best, and a health hazard at worst.

Cost and Value
The Createch USA Tri Jet ULV Non-Thermal Fogger is a more cost-effective option compared to other more well-known products. Still, they offer comparable performance to those ones, and the lower cost makes this one worth checking out.

4. EcoSmart Mosquito Fogger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
 EcoSmart Mosquito Fogger
Style
92
Application
91
Size
93
Ease of Use
91
Value
92
best offer for today
$12.67
Pros:

Completely organic

Long lasting

No gross residue

The three cans go a long way

Cons:

Not as potent as others

Not the best coverage

Obviously, it's always nice to have a product that's environmentally conscious, but you are going to pay more for the privilege, both in terms of money, and patience because while they are good for the planet, they don't contain any of the known agents that have proven effectiveness. That being said, if you don't need an immediate result, the pros here definitely outweigh the cons.

Read more

Good value
I know, I've already mentioned the cost as a negative, so how can I use it as a good thing? Easy. The initial cost is higher than normal, but then you'll get it home and start using it. Then again. Months later yet again. It comes with three cans, and each use just requires a light spray, so yeah. Pay up front, then reap the rewards for the long term.

No harsh chemicals
That is definitely the main draw of this product, and the whole reason to buy it. The harshest ingredient is probably rosemary oil, which is completely harmless to humans, but luckily bugs hate it. This stuff gets bonus points for smelling so nice too.

Cost and Value
Be careful, because you may well cringe at the cost of this fogger. However, the price is completely justified when you see that it's a completely organic product. When it comes to protecting the environment, a little more money is nothing.

5. New Invatech Backpack Fogger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
 New Invatech Backpack Fogger
Style
90
Application
91
Size
88
Ease of Use
87
Value
90
best offer for today
$289.00
Pros:

Great for crop protection

Ergonomic shoulder straps and backrest

Rapid dispersion

Well priced

Cons:

Very heavy

Cheap straps

Want to get rid of nasty pests while looking like a Ghostbuster? Now you can! That's just one of the many perks you get to enjoy with this backpack sprayer. The rapid dispersion, remarkable range, and competitive price are important features as well. None of them are really as cool though, but they all combine to create a really well-made piece of equipment.

Read more

Easy on the back
comfort is pretty crucial when you're spending your day walking around with a fogger on your back. The ergonomic design of the harness is a great help to that regard, providing posture and stability to keep you going strong.

Goes where you go
Of course, it does, it's strapped to your back. Quite comfortably too I might add. This portability coupled with its range makes this perfect for greenhouses, farms, fields, any large area, really.

Cost and Value
It’s big, it's heavy, and it's cheap. At least compared to other similar products. It's made by a newer company, and they are doing it right by giving high-end quality at an affordable price.

6. Hudson 99598 Electric

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
 Hudson 99598 Electric
Style
85
Application
84
Size
83
Ease of Use
85
Value
86
best offer for today
$229.65
Pros:

Industrial quality

Good coverage

Portable

Great for large gardens

Cons:

The clamp is known to break

Pretty bulky

This one is a great choice if you like to putter around the house and have an unusual amount of bugs getting underfoot. It's electric, so the home and surrounding areas are where you want to be. Nonetheless, Hudson designed this for more domestic residential and commercial situations, and the Hudson 99598 Fog Electric Atomizer Sprayer thrives in that world.

Read more

You are covered
As long as you're close to a power source, you can cover as much ground as you need to without anything to hold you back. The shoulder straps give you the freedom to go where you need to go.

Built tough
Just because your pest control needs may be on smaller scale, that doesn't mean you don't deserve top of the line quality in a fogger. Hudson agrees with that and built their atomizer to give industrial performance in a great package for home use.

Cost and Value
Anything that claims to be industrial quality and can back it up already has a lot going for it already in terms of value. Now, when it also happens to have a very reasonable price point, it just become a no-brainer.

7. Silver Bullet ULV Fogger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
 Silver Bullet ULV Fogger
Style
81
Application
82
Size
81
Ease of Use
83
Value
81
best offer for today
Pros:

Corrosion free stainless steel construction

Great price

Large capacity fluid tank

Powerful motor

Cons:

Known to leak

Motor overheats

I like these foggers, as much as you can like a fogger. The thing that sticks out for me is the nonthermal cold dispersion present in this one. That goes a long way to keeping the affected area contained, without the concern of the harmful chemicals seeping into the neighborhood. Pest control is a necessary evil that not everybody needs to be exposed to.

Read more

Won't corrode
Housing this hard-working fogger is a nice shiny stainless steel shell. Besides looking sharp, the use if this material achieves a sturdy corrosion-free construction that will hold up for a long time to come.

Power to spare.
Why would a fogger need a powerful motor? It's pretty simple, really. The extra power this thing packs makes it a beast as far as distance and coverage go, meaning you can say goodbye to that pest problem.

Cost and Value
Another high-quality nonthermal fogger with the top of the line features and a very nice price point. I think I'm beginning to see a trend. It's always good to have options at different costs, especially for those unfamiliar with the product.

8. Bonide 420 Fog-Rx

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
 Bonide 420 Fog-Rx
Style
80
Application
79
Size
81
Ease of Use
80
Value
79
best offer for today
$72.36
Pros:

No residue

Durable nylon construction

Very fast dispersion

Great coverage

Cons:

Has been known to spray fire

Plugs up

Here's a bit of a surprise: this fogger is housed primarily in nylon. If nothing else, I'd say that makes it pretty lightweight and durable. All good things when the main use if a fogger is to be carried around in various conditions for an extended time. So not only do you get convenience, with its rapid dispersion and a large area of coverage, you get it all.

Read more

Doesn't leave a trace
After the Bonide 420 Fog-Rx Propane Insect Fogger does its job, the only reminder you're left with is a bunch of little bug carcasses, and not a big messy, oily stain to clean up.

Works fast
For a lot of the foggers on this list, I've talked up the benefits of a great coverage area, but this one has an equally important trait: it gets the solution out of the tank and onto the target area fast.

Cost and Value
If you happen to have a decent sized garden that you're passionate about, the money that you’d put out for this fogger (which isn't a lot) wouldn't be an issue after just a few uses of it. It's a perfect ally for your garden, and you'll be glad to have it.

9. Hudson 62691 Fog

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
 Hudson 62691 Fog
Style
79
Application
78
Size
79
Ease of Use
77
Value
75
best offer for today
$92.99
Pros:

Great for around the home

Ignites easily

Trigger lock prevents accidental discharge

Lightweight

Cons:

Pump clogs

Pesticide can melt the pump

Just as effective as their commercial model, yet aimed at those who have pest problems on a slightly smaller scale, the 62691 Propane fogger is the perfect alternative when bigger foggers would only be overkill. It still bears the Hudson name and commitment to quality that has kept them around for so long, it just happens to be a bit smaller and lighter so you can easily carry it around your property and take care of business without any inconvenience.

Read more

Locked out
This may seem like a minor feature, but really, it’s pretty huge. The last thing you need when you’re busy exterminating those pests is your fogger accidentally going off and spraying toxic chemicals all over. It’s a waste of money, and it could prove to be very harmful. A simple trigger lock, as found on this model, eliminates that issue.

Lightweight Construction
The smaller ½ gallon tank and lightweight construction make the 62691 Fogger by Hudson the ideal fogger for around the house. One-half gallon may not seem like much, but it will be more than enough for your home.

Cost and Value
Another case of you get what you pay for, this fogger is admittedly more expensive than many other choices, but Hudson, the manufacturer, has over a century of expertise and knowledge in the field of pest control, so it's a price well earned.

10. Longray Basic ULV Fogger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.8
 Longray Basic ULV Fogger
Style
74
Application
73
Size
74
Ease of Use
72
Value
71
best offer for today
$198.68
Pros:

Good sized tank

Easy fill valve

Easy to carry around

Clog proof nozzle

Cons:

Very loud

Weak hose

This is the one I mentioned above that looks like it belongs in an old 60’s sci-fi show, and because of this, it is my favorite one. Beyond the unique appearance, I swear they built this fogger to make your life easier. Every feature it has to seem geared toward efficiency, performance, and results. If you have a big bug problem, and a few dollars to spare, the Longray fogger is the robot, I mean fogger, for you.

Read more

Fill and go
The tank on the Longray Basic ULV Fogger is super easy to fill up so you’re not wasting time with preparation and can get out there and chase away the insects and pests. It also lends well to keeping everything nice and clean, as you are less likely to cause any spills.

No clog!
The nozzle for this fogger doesn’t clog up. I like that. The last thing I’d want to do if I were in an exterminating mood would be to have to mess around with a plugged up fogger, getting chemicals all over the place while the bugs flourish and multiply. The whole design of this one is to make the job quick and easy.

Cost and Value
This is a huge piece of equipment meant to carry out a huge amount of work, thereby making your workload lighter. You are going to have to pay up a bit for that assistance, but in the end, it's well worth it.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

One of the first things that you will want to think about when purchasing a mosquito fogger is what kind you are looking for. Foggers come in two broad categories: thermal foggers and cold foggers. Each category can be broken down further into two additional subcategories: gas or electric for thermal foggers and ULV or propellant style foggers for cold foggers.

Each type will have different price ranges, effectiveness, and ease of use so you will want to take some time to become familiar with all of the different kind of foggers that are available prior to picking out a mosquito fogger. Thermal foggers are mosquito foggers that use a heating element to heat and ultimately vaporize the pesticide that you are using in the unit. You can get thermal foggers with either gas or electric heating elements.

You will also see cold foggers which do not use a heating element to vaporize the pesticides in the fogger. These foggers use air pressure to force the chemicals through nozzles which create a fog of insect repellent. Cold foggers are more versatile than thermal foggers and you can use them for other tasks besides repelling insect. For example, you can use a cold fogger to kill mildew or mold in your home and they can even be used as a humidifier.

Application

You will also want to think about the zone of coverage when you are picking out an insect fogger. The size of the coverage area will determine how much of an area that you can effectively fog while penetration will determine how well the fog is able to reach into nooks and crevices where insect may be borrowed or hiding. Some foggers are for outdoor use only while other styles of insect foggers can be used indoors and outdoors.

A thermal fogger is ideal for treating large outdoor areas for insects. The fog will normally disappear 5 to 10 minutes after treatment at which point it will be safe for you to continue with your outdoor activities.

Cold foggers are suitable for both outdoor and indoor usage, but you are likely going to get better results when using this kind of fogger in an indoor setting as opposed to an outdoor setting.

Size

Insect foggers come in different shapes and sizes so you will need to look around and find one that is the right size for your needs. Large insect foggers are often worn on the operator's back using shoulder straps. The size of the fogger allows it to have a larger motor which will help produce a larger cloud of fog when using the machine. It also means that the fogger can have a larger tank so that there is less need to refill the fogger between uses.

Most of the time, a stationary insect fogger will be larger. Since there is no need for you to move a stationary insect fogger around from place to place, there is less reason to make them small and lightweight. That doesn't mean a stationary insect fogger is extremely heavy or difficult to move. Many stationary insect foggers are about the same size as a countertop kitchen appliance. The propellant style insect foggers are the smallest size of insect fogger and are also the most portable.

Ease of Use

Every kind of insect fogger is operated differently so you will want to think about how you operate a fogger that you are interested in purchasing prior to buying the fogger. For example, thermal foggers have more start-up procedures than ULV foggers. And a propellant based fogger is the easiest kind to use while a thermal fogger tends to be more effective.

Value

Insect foggers can range from a few dollars all of the ways up to thousands of dollars depending on the kind of fogger and what sort of features you want to include in the fogger. Some people need a high-end fogger that can cover a large area or be used throughout an entire day of work while other people only need an inexpensive insect fogger for single use. As always look for the fogger that is right for you at a price that you are comfortable spending.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Get Outta My House/Off My Lawn

Let's keep in mind the goal here as we consider insect foggers: To get the insects dead, or to make them go somewhere else. If that's the goal, then the matchup to the fogger you need is going to be a fairly easy determination to make based on the land you're working with. Are you dealing with outdoors or indoors, well our list is going to point out which one is best for the great outdoors or enclosed spaces.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I use an insect fogger in the wind?
a:

It is not a good idea to use an insect fogger in a windy area. For one thing, the wind will blow the fog away from the area that you intend to treat and the fog will likely settle in a different area instead. Not only will this render the treatment to be ineffective, but you may also antagonize neighbors by blowing fog into their area when they did not want any fog in the first place.

q: Where should I treat outdoors?
a:

When you are treating for insects outdoors, you should look for areas where insects will hide and where they will likely lay their eggs. Insects tend to hide in dark areas such as vegetation, under rocks, or other objects where there is a shadow. This will keep them from getting exposed to light and predators. When you are fogging outdoors, you should look for such areas and try and direct the fog in those directions so that insects and their eggs are killed.

q: What is the best time of the day to fog insects?
a:

Fogging for insects is most effective when insects are out and about. This will cause them to get exposed to the insecticides and will cause them to die quickly. The middle of the day is the best time in most areas since insects are active and the wind tends to be calmer during this time of the day. Morning and evening hours have lower temperatures so insects are less likely to be out during these times of the day.

q: What sort of bugs are killed by insect foggers?
a:

Insect foggers are generally used to kill and prevent the return of mosquitoes, flies, and other flying insects. The insecticide that you use with the insect fogger will ultimately determine what sort of insects end up getting killed by an insect fogger. Prior to fogging, you should check the insecticide and read what sort of bugs it is able to kill. This will give you a good idea of what sort of insects will get killed.

q: How often should I use my insect fogger?
a:

You do not want to use your insect fogger too much or you will risk exposing yourself to too much insecticide. Most insect foggers should only be used once every couple of days or less in order to avoid over treating the area that you are fogging. The insecticides that you choose to use will provide you with further guidance as to how often you should treat an area with an insect fogger so make sure to read the directions.

Sources

  1. EPA, Safety Precautions Insect Foggers, Website
  2. Insect Cop, Difference Between Thermal and ULV Foggers, Website
  3. Garden Guides, Bug Foggers, Website