to top 10 table

Best Hamster Playgrounds Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Jun 06, 2019

Let us ask you a question: When you were a child, did your parents let you laze around inside all day? The answer is likely “no.” And why is that? Because people require activity and exercise in order to maintain healthy bodies and minds. Well, your furry friends like your dog and hamster are no different!

For your hamster to maintain healthy, natural habits, combat obesity, and plain just not get bored and start chewing up everything in sight, they need to be stimulated and they need exercise.

We know what you’re thinking--it’s hard enough to get your exercise in and now you have to worry about your hamster’s too! But we’ve done the hard work for you. Check out the different hamster playgrounds on our list below. Our featured products will have your furry friend swinging, climbing, burrowing, and having an all-around ball.

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Trixie Pet Products Cuddly
99.4/100 our score
Materials
99
Size
100
Features
99
Adjustability
100
Value
99
Trixie Pet Products Cuddly
Why is it better?

3 different climbing features

Adjustable attachments

Cozy hammock for taking a nap

Easy to install in the cage

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Trixie Pet Products Cuddly
Test Winner: Trixie Pet Products Cuddly
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Size Features Adjustability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Materials
100 %
Size
100 %
Features
100 %
Adjustability
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Materials
99 %
Size
100 %
Features
99 %
Adjustability
100 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
$17.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Materials
98 %
Size
99 %
Features
99 %
Adjustability
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
$63.26
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Materials
97 %
Size
97 %
Features
97 %
Adjustability
99 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
$30.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Materials
99 %
Size
96 %
Features
97 %
Adjustability
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Materials
98 %
Size
95 %
Features
95 %
Adjustability
93 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
$11.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Materials
92 %
Size
95 %
Features
92 %
Adjustability
92 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Materials
94 %
Size
94 %
Features
96 %
Adjustability
90 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
$23.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Materials
86 %
Size
88 %
Features
90 %
Adjustability
88 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Materials
86 %
Size
88 %
Features
86 %
Adjustability
86 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.08.21)
Amazon Link
$8.99

10 Best Hamster Playgrounds

1. Niteangel Tunnel System

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Niteangel Tunnel System
Amazon Link
Materials
100
Size
100
Features
100
Adjustability
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Made from all natural wood

Wood is safe to eat

Large and adjustable for perfect fit

Bridges and tunnel for lots of activity

Also a great nesting place

Cons:

Issues with fitting items all together

The Niteangel Natural Living Tunnel System ranks as our Number 1 product because it is an all natural full-on entertainment center for your fuzzy little lovebug. Plus, this option can double as a cozy hideaway as well as a fun zone. And you won’t have to worry about your furry friends eating anything they shouldn’t if they begin to nibble away at it.

Made from All Natural Wood
The Niteangel Natural Living Tunnel System is, as the name suggests, made from all natural wood. If you know your pet, you know they likely enjoy chewing on anything left in their cage. With this product, you can feel safe knowing that whatever may become a snack for your pet won’t hurt them if they ingest it.

Loaded With Different Activity Options
The Niteangel Natural Living Tunnel System is one of the larger playgrounds on our list. It weighs about 3 pounds and when fully assembled, it measures 18.5 inches long, 5.9 inches tall, and 8.7 inches wide. It is ideally suited for a tank (or cage) that is around 30 gallons.

But if that sounds too big, don’t worry! You can mix and match the configurations of this product so that if you have a smaller cage, you can put different parts in at different times.

The product features tons of activity options. Your pet will enjoy a 2-story log cabin with multiple entryways (openings measure about 2 inches in diameter so they are not big enough for animals like guinea pigs who need bigger tunnels). From the log cabin, there are two log bridges that your pet will love racing across. There is also a tunnel leading from the log cabin to the smaller, one-story hut. The hut features a nice rooftop and another bridge.

Your furry friend will be entertained with hours of activity and exercise, and they will also be able to nest in the small, dark, cozy corners.

Cost and Value
The Niteangel Natural Living Tunnel System rings up towards the top of our price range and we love its value because it is made from all natural wood so it is safe for your pet to eat, and because it is large but adjustable so you can configure it to fit your pet’s cage.

2. Trixie Pet Products Cuddly

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.4
Trixie Pet Products Cuddly
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Size
100
Features
99
Adjustability
100
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.99
Pros:

3 different climbing features

Adjustable attachments

Cozy hammock for taking a nap

Easy to install in the cage

Cons:

Not great for glass tanks

The Trixie Pet Products Cuddly is one of our favorite items on this list and it was hard to choose just 1 product from this company. They offer tons of activity options for your pet that are creative and super fun. This particular option features 3 different obstacles for your pet to work up a sweat on.

3 Different Obstacles for Activity
The Cuddly from Trixie is a great option to get your pets moving. It features a wood bridge at the top of the product that your pet can climb across. On the side, you’ll find a real rope ladder with wooden pegs for climbing. And you’ll also get a colorful rope ring for even more fun with your purchase.

We love this product because you can reconfigure it based on your needs. Each individual play item comes with rings attached. This allows you to attach the different items to parts of the cage to create different obstacles for your pet to enjoy.

Great for Hanging Around
The Cuddly from Trixie is designed to be used in cages, not tanks, though you could secure suction cups with attachments if you are using a tank for your pet. The product attaches at 4 corners and is easily adjusted to suit your needs.

In addition to the activity items listed above, the product also features a nice hanging hammock. This hammock is lined with faux lambswool (in reality, it’s polyester) and is a nice cozy place for your pet to curl up and take a nap. You can also wash this in the washing machine when it gets soiled. We recommend washing alone and air drying.

If this product sounds great, but you’re looking for something a little bit different, check out Trixie’s other products. They feature coconut hanging beds, coconut rope ladders, and other hanging ladders for your rabbits, guinea pigs, and even larger ferrets to enjoy.

Cost and Value
The Trixie Pet Products Cuddly rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it features 3 climbing options with tons of different configurations so that you can mix up your pet’s activity time. Plus, it also serves as a cozy place to hang out when your pet needs a break from exercising.

3. Habitrail OVO Studio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Habitrail OVO Studio
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Size
99
Features
99
Adjustability
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$63.26
Pros:

Serves as permanent and portable habitat

Tons of different additions to add on

Offers easy access at multiple points

Easy to detach attachments for cleaning

High bank prevents litter from spilling

Cons:

Time-consuming to clean

The Habitrail OVO Studio is an all-in-one stop for your hamster. Not only does this studio serve as a hamster residence, but it is also a fully growable playground that your pet will love. With tons of different add ons and options, you can create a wonderscape for your pet all while being able to observe their silly antics.

Great for Observing Your Pets Activity
While some products make it hard to watch your pet’s antics, the Habitrail OVO Studio allows you to enjoy the show. With clear and opaque tubes and tunnels, you will be able to watch your pet as they frolic around. There are, of course, still cozy places for your pet to nest when they are ready for a nap.

Tons of Incredible Additions
Not only is the Habitrail OVO Studio a fun zone for your pet, but it is also their permanent cage. With high bumpers, your pet won’t spew litter all over the place, and doors open up for easy access. Plus reviewers love how easily tubes and tunnels detach to make the cage super transportable in case your furry friend needs to take a visit to the vet.

That’s right, additions are a-plenty! There are tons of different tubes, rocketships, and even wheels that you can purchase from Habitrail to grow your hamster’s play-world even more. And they all are designed to fit perfectly. They go on super easily and are just as easy to remove when they need cleaning.

We also love that this particular unit features a few different ports with latches that are easy to open so that you can interact with your pet more readily. But don’t worry, these are rodent proof and cannot be opened from the inside.

Cost and Value
The Habitrail OVO Studio rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it has so many functions all wrapped into one. Not only is it a permanent habitat, but it is also a portable one and one that can be added onto to make the entertainment last and last.

4. GNB PET Tunnel Playground

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
GNB PET Tunnel Playground
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Size
97
Features
97
Adjustability
99
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.99
Pros:

Comes with tons of pieces

You can DIY your own playground

Rugged insides good for climbing

2-inch diameter openings

Can arrange in many different ways

Cons:

Issues attaching to other brand’s cages

The GNB PET Hamster Tunnel and Playground comes with a whopping 94 pieces so that you can DIY your very own pet’s wonder world. These are designed to be attached to the GNB PET habitat, but can also function on its own. This is a great option for kids to get creative in making their pet’s playground even more fun.

Comes with 94 Parts
The GNB PET Hamster Tunnel kit comes with 94 different pieces. You’ll get 21 square sides with different shaped holes in them along with all of the joints and connectors you need to make cute little end pods for your pet to hang out in.

Plus, you’ll get 6 straight tunnel pieces, 9 curved tunnel pieces, and 2 tri-tunnel pieces along with all of the round connectors and joints for these pieces as well. The picture above shows just a fraction of the tunnel pieces given being used, so the possibilities really are endless.

You won’t need any glue or tools to put these pieces together. They snap securely to one another and can be adjusted if need be later.

Rugged Insides Great for Climbing
The GNB PET Hamster Tunnel features hole openings that are 2 inches wide in diameter. The insides of the pieces have a rugged feel that allows for easy climbing. This is important as some products that are made from plastic as too slick on the inside for many pets to get a good climbing grip, rendering them unusable unless the tubes are laid flat.

Cost and Value
The GNB PET Hamster Tunnel and Playground rings up at the very top of our price range but we love its value because it not only offers exercise to your pet, but it also allows your child to enjoy DIYing their pet’s fun zone.

5. Rosewood Assault Course

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Rosewood Assault Course
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Size
96
Features
97
Adjustability
95
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Multiple different activity options

Easy to assemble and great size

All natural wood and glue

Safe for your pet to eat

Great-looking product

Cons:

Some parts can be wobbly

The Rosewood Pet Activity Assault Course will break up the boredom in your hamster’s cage. It is made from all natural materials (even down to the glue), so it is 100% pet safe. This product is guaranteed to get your pet moving, and it might even double as a little snack for them along the way!

100% Natural Materials that are Pet Safe
The Rosewood Pet Activity Assault Course is made from 100% natural materials that are also 100% safe for your pet. That means that when your pet decides to take a nibble out of their activity course, there is no harm done.

This product will require some assembly, and even the glue that is provided is all natural and safe for your pet to consume. Don’t let “some assembly required” scare you! You will be able to have this puppy put together in about 10 minutes time. Of course, you’ll need to allow some time for the glue to dry and everything to set before putting it in your pet’s cage.

When fully assembled, this product weighs about 2 pounds and measures 10.6 inches tall, 9.4 inches long, and 8.3 inches wide so it is great for your average sized tank or cage.

Tons of Obstacles for Endless Fun
The Rosewood Pet Activity Assault Course is complete with no less than 8 different obstacles for your pet to workout on.

The product includes 2 standard ladders as well as 2 more ladders with wobble-logs to challenge your pet’s balance and agility. Your pet will also enjoy 2 peg ladders for climbing on either side. Plus, suspended in the middle of the activity course is a tunnel that your pet can climb through and on top of. These varying activities will have your pet entertained and stimulated for hours on end.

Cost and Value
The Rosewood Pet Activity Assault Course rings up towards the top of our price range and we love its value because it is made from 100% safe materials that your pet can snack on to fuel up for their training. We also love that it features a wide variety of different activity options to keep your pet stimulated and entertained.

6. Niteangel Mat House

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Niteangel Mat House
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Size
95
Features
95
Adjustability
93
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.95
Pros:

Made from wood that is safe to eat

1 bridge and ramp for climbing

Two-story house for variety

Bottom, cozy section for nesting

Good size for most habitats

Cons:

Stairs hard to fit in holes

The Niteangel Natural Living Mat House is the second Niteangel product to make our list because Niteangel makes products from high-quality wood that is safe for your pets to chew on (and eat). This is a smaller version of our Number 1 product that is great for those with more limited space inside of their pet’s cage.

Made from Chewable Wood
The Niteangel Natural Living Mat House is made from pet-safe wood that your pet can run on, play on, burrow in, nest in, and snack on all without being harmed. It is worth noting that this product features a bridge that is held together by wire, so you should keep an eye on the wire to make sure there are no sharp points exposed.

As we mentioned, this is a smaller version of our Number 1 product. It weighs a little less than a pound and measures 6.7 inches long, 6.7 inches tall, and 3.9 inches wide.

Active and Cozy Options
This features a few different options for your pet to enjoy. The two-story house has a cozy, closed in space in the basement with 2-inch diameter holes for entry. Your pet will likely burrow and nest in this spot and it is not big enough for animals like guinea pigs to nest in.

The top story features a nice open space for your pet to hang out and climb around. Attached to the top story are a bridge and a ramp. Your pet will have tons of fun running up and down these, and even climbing on top of the roof.

Cost and Value
The Niteangel Natural Living Mat House rings up at the lower end of our price range and we love its value because it’s a smaller version of our Number 1 product that will fit in cages with limited space at a more affordable price. Plus, it offers up playing, nesting, and snacking options so your pet will have all of their bases covered.

7. BWOGUE Wood Cask Toy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
BWOGUE Wood Cask Toy
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Size
95
Features
92
Adjustability
92
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Tons of holes to run in and out of

A great option for those on a budget

Designed with non-toxic paint

2-levels and ledges encourage climbing

Cons:

Composite wood damages when wet

The BWOGUE Wood Cask Toy is a lovely little colorful option that won’t break the bank. With tons of different holes for your pet to climb in and out of, plus a level up top for climbing, your furry friend will surely be entertained.

Designed Using Non-Toxic Paint
This toy was designed with your pet in mind using water-based, food-grade, non-toxic paint. The product is made of composite wood so it is dense and sturdy. That being said, your pet may try to munch on this and they won’t be getting a real-wood treat when they do.

Because it is made of composite wood, you’ll want to pull it out and wipe it down semi-frequently. It is important that it isn’t saturated with water because it will damage the product.

Fun, Active Options
The BWOGUE is a two-level toy that will encourage your pet to climb and weave. With tons of holes and ledges, your pet will be entertained for time to come. There are no super enclosed spaces so your pet will likely not nest here which is good because nesting can cause damage to the composite wood.

Cost and Value
The BWOGUE rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is a playful option for those who are on a budget. While this isn’t the fanciest of products, it does encourage activity and climbing to keep your pet active.

8. Kaytee CritterTrail Expansion Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Kaytee CritterTrail Expansion Kit
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Size
94
Features
96
Adjustability
90
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.99
Pros:

Ribbed edges for easy vertical climbing

Different activity options apart from tunnel

Includes a wheel for steady running fun

Can observe your pet as they run about

Cost-effective option

Cons:

Only designed to attach to Kaytee habitats

The Kaytee CritterTrail Expansion Kit is a wonderful option for those who already have Kaytee habitats for their pets to live in. This kit expands your pet’s activity area and features many different activity options to make sure that your pet stays entertained, engaged, and healthy.

Tunnels, Wheels, and Cozy Corners
The Kaytee CritterTrail Expansion Kit features multiple different activity options for your pet. The kit can attach at a few different points and features one long curved tube, a short straight tube, and a short tube with an available attachment. You’ll also get a large circular tube that your pet can run in circles around.

But it’s not just tunnels that you’ll be getting with this kit. Your pet will also enjoy a hamster wheel to run around in for endless hours of entertainment, as well as a cozy little nesting house that serves as an additional attachment.

Ribbed Tunnels are Great for Climbing
This kit features ribbed tunnels and a ribbed wheel that makes them great for climbing. Your pet won’t have trouble getting their climb on despite being made of plastic because the rips provide leverage for climbing--even when 100% vertical.

This product is made from colored plastic that is pretty easy to see and observe through so you can enjoy watching your pet while they scurry about. When fully assembled, you’ll add another 9 by 9 by 18 inches of space to your pet’s activity area.

Cost and Value
This option rings up towards the bottom of our price range and we like its value because it offers up tons of different activity options that will keep your pet entertained for hours. It is also designed for easy climbing and it won’t break the bank.

9. Kathson Wooden House

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Kathson Wooden House
Amazon Link
Materials
86
Size
88
Features
90
Adjustability
88
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Fun to assemble with kids

Stairs and slide for endless fun

Slatted sides and roof for easy climbing

Cozy nesting place underneath

Waterproof wood that can be cleaned

Cons:

Easy for pets to chew through

The Kathson Wooden Hamster House is another amazing budget-friendly option. It’s also small enough to fit into most habitats. Plus, it comes in puzzle-like pieces that make it fun to assemble and it fights odors and can be washed to keep it clean.

Made from Eco-Wood
This house is made from Eco-Wood that is durable and easy to clean. This wood is a composite wood that is made from recycled bits of wood left over. Plus, it can stand up to water like some its competitors cannot, making it super easy to clean.

We also love that this piece comes as a bit of a puzzle to put together. We don’t mean that it’s confusing! We meant the pieces fit together like a 3-D puzzle, making the assembly process fun and entertaining--especially for the little ones.

When fully assembled, the product weighs only 9 ounces and measures about 6 inches tall, 3.5 inches wide, and 3 inches deep. That makes this a great option for smaller habitats that don’t have as much room to spare.

Stairs and Slides
This toy has a few different activity features. Your pet will enjoy climbing the stairs and zipping down the slide over, and over, and over again. Plus, the slatted roof and sides are perfect for climbing.

And once your pet is tuckered out from all of that play, the hamster house features a nice little cozy area under the stairs to burrow and nest in. This is a great dark spot to make your pet feel safe and warm throughout the daylight hours.

Cost and Value
The Kathson Wooden Hamster House rings up at the bottom of our price range and we like its value because it is fun to assemble and fun for your pet. With stairs, slide, and slatted climbing options, your pet will be entertained and will also have a cozy place to nest once they are ready for a nap.

10. Kathson DIY Rainbow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Kathson DIY Rainbow
Amazon Link
Materials
86
Size
88
Features
86
Adjustability
86
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.99
Pros:

Great for slower-moving hamsters

Ideal for habitats with less space

Easy to assemble

Easy to clean

Ok for your pets to eat

Cons:

Pets will eat quickly

To close out our list we feature another product from Kathson. It is a great option if there’s not a lot of room to spare in your cage and if you are trying to get a little chunky hamster active after some sedentary time. These are easy to climb on, easy to assemble, and easy to clean--the perfect trifecta.

Rainbow Bridge and Bonus See-Saw
This features a bridge and a bonus see-saw for your pet to enjoy. The bridge is comprised of stairs that are great for climbing and the see-saw features slats that make it easy to climb and hold onto. These are easy items to play on so they are ideal for the overweight hamster or older hamster that can no longer climb vertically well.

Chew-Approved
The Kathson DIY Rainbow is made from eco-composite wood that is approved for your pet to chew on (and they definitely will). The composite wood is also easy to clean.
You will have to assemble the products yourself, but they fit together like a puzzle and assembly is easy. When assembled, the rainbow bridge is 5.5 inches long, 3 inches tall, and 2.7 inches wide. The see-saw measures almost 6 inches long, 1.5 inches tall, and 2.5 inches wide.

Cost and Value
This product rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we like its value because it is a great option for those with limited space inside of their habitats and for encouraging play in slower-moving hamsters.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When compiling the featured items on this Ten Best List, we heavily considered the materials that each product is made out of. Why? Because we know that your pet’s health and safety is super important to you so we want to make sure that we suggest pet-safe products.

The items that score highest on our list in this category are made from natural, real wood that is pet safe and that hasn’t been treated with hazardous chemicals. These products are not only safe for your pet to gnaw on, but they are also safe for your pet to consume. Some of the real-wood products we feature even come with natural glues to ensure your pet’s safety if their playground should turn snack.

We do feature some items on our list that are made of plastics. While these can become hazardous if they are chewed on, the ones on this list are still safe for your pet to use.
Finally, there are a few items on our list that are made from composite woods. Some of these are easy to clean and are still durable, while some others won’t handle moisture super well. This is important to keep in mind when you consider your pet’s nesting habits.

Size

Size was an important consideration for us as well as you will only have so much space available in your cage. We work to provide true dimensions so that you can have a good idea about how each item will potentially fit.

We also work to provide circumference sizes so that you can make a good judgment call about whether or not these products will work for other animals. Because hamsters are more common than sugar gliders, finding products made for hamsters is easier. But hamsters and adorable hedgehogs aren’t going to be able to fit in the same size spaces.

Features

Some of the features we love most on these products are their easy-climb designs. We see this on wood products with specific ridges and notches that make climbing a breeze. We also see this is plastic products that have ribbed or “rugged” insides that make it easier for your pet to get traction.

Plus, we love when products offer multiple different play options on their playgrounds. On this list, we feature products that have rope ladders, rolling ladders, common ladders, tunnels, stairs, slides, and more. Our favorite is when one product combines more than one of these for even more hamster playground fun.

Adjustability

Products that can be adjusted score highly in this category. By this, we mean we favor items that allow you to personalize and build your own hamster playgrounds. Not only are these more fun for you to build, but they are more fun for your hamster as well.

Value

Most of the products on our list are super affordable and even the pricer products are great because they can double as actual hamster habitats. Most of them provide nesting areas and some are even great for a snack. So if you ask us, these multi-function options are loaded with value.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Not for All Rodents

As we mentioned before when we discussed size, it’s important to remember that these hamster playgrounds are not suitable for all rodents. And trust us, we read hundreds of reviews from people who were surprised and disappointed by the size of their order because their pets were too big for it.
For example, guinea pigs, rats, and hedgehogs will be too large to fit through the small openings in these products. While they may be appropriate for smaller mice, rats, and gerbils, you should check the dimensions to get a good idea of whether your pet will fit or not.

Sun Exposure and Vinegar Helps Remove Odor

If you are having trouble with a stinky cage, take your pet’s play things out and wipe them down with a diluted vinegar solution (better than natural cleaners at removing odors). Then let them sit in the sun for a bit. This will help majorly with unpleasant smells and you won’t have to worry about introducing toxic chemicals back into your pet’s cage.

Other Factors to Consider

Compatibility

Some of the products on our list are only meant to be paired with specific brand products. These items score lower in the compatibility category. Items that work well no matter what kind of cage you have score high here.

Durability

While some of the products on this are meant to be eaten, we like to highlight how long they will last. We also feature plastic products that don’t break down as easily. By far, composite wood items score lowest in terms of durability because they aren’t as strong and animals eat through the faster.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are these suitable for more than one hamster?

a:

Some of the features of the products on our list are better suited for one hamster at a time, but most can be enjoyed by 2-3 hamsters at a time with no trouble at all.

q: Is it really okay for my hamster to eat the wood?

a:

The real wood items on our list are totally okay to be eaten. Just keep in mind there may be some metal parts holding it together so ensure no sharp parts are exposed once they start gnawing away.

q: What if my hamster gets stuck?

a:

The freestanding products on this list have no bottoms so you can lift them up to free your hamster. If your hamster gets caught in a tube, you can pop the joints off the open the tube.

Sources

  1. Paul , Exercising Your Hamster, Article
  2. The Hamster House Contributing Writers, Hamster Wheels: Why your hamster needs a wheel, Article
  3. Angela Stringfellow, What Do Hamsters Need?, Article