to top 10 table

Best Fishing Sunglasses Reviewed for Protection & Glare Reflection

last updated Nov 10, 2019

Even when we don’t catch anything we love fishing. We fish to be out on the water, we fish to be with our friends and family, we fish to see the waves and water. And then some days we fish because we’re hungry and we don’t want to buy that suspect slice of mystery fish that looks fresh but that you suspect may have been sitting in that bed of crushed ice for days. Whatever your motivations, fishing is something that everyone should do at least one, and something that some of us have to do whenever possible. There are only two bad things about fishing: seasickness if that’s your problem and the glare that pops off those waves and sears your retina like a microwave. We can’t fix the first but we have fishing sunglasses guaranteed to solve the second problem.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
 Costa Del Mar Blackfin
94.3/100 our score
Protection
96
Effectiveness
96
Use
90
Features
95
Costa Del Mar Blackfin
Why is it better?

580p Technology reduces glare penetration

Polarized lenses improve clarity and block reflections

The non-slip frame provides comfort

Scratch proof lenses

Stylish design

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Costa Del Mar Blackfin
Test Winner: Costa Del Mar Blackfin
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
5
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12250
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By :

The sun can feel great on your skin while spending the day on the water. But in the same instance, it can be a nuisance to your eyes, especially the glare coming off the water. We recently updated the page to include three new pairs of fishing sunglasses. Cover your eyes with one of these options Native Eyewear, Filthy Angler, or Oakley Holbrook.

Sorting Options
Protection Effectiveness Use Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Protection
96 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Use
90 %
Features
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$112.03
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Protection
95 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Use
93 %
Features
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$12.91
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Protection
94 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Use
93 %
Features
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$19.98
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Protection
91 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Use
94 %
Features
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$17.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Protection
93 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Use
92 %
Features
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$19.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Protection
91 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Use
92 %
Features
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$25.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Protection
92 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Use
91 %
Features
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$15.03
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Protection
92 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Use
91 %
Features
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$69.57
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Protection
91 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Use
90 %
Features
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$27.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Protection
90 %
Effectiveness
89 %
Use
89 %
Features
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.12.19)
Amazon Link
$74.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Costa Del Mar Blackfin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Costa Del Mar Blackfin Sunglasses
Costa Del Mar Blackfin Sunglasses
Costa Del Mar Blackfin Sunglasses
Amazon Link
Protection
96
Effectiveness
96
Use
90
Features
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$112.03
Pros:

580p Technology reduces glare penetration

Polarized lenses improve clarity and block reflections

The non-slip frame provides comfort

Scratch proof lenses

Stylish design

Cons:

Not suitable for high-impact water activities like white, water rafting

Costa’s Blackfin fishing sunglasses are a trusted tool that brings clarity and comfort to a day of fishing. Whether fly casting for bonefish, spinning salmon in a river’s current, or wrestling deep-sea marlin, the 100 percent polarized and flexible sunglasses are a worthy addition to a tackle box.

Visibility
Costa Del sunglasses are specifically designed to give high levels to anglers. 580p lenses reduce glare penetration and show underwater movements and shapes clearly. The view is impressive and clear. High-tech lenses offer superior quality. They are scratch proof. The lenses are lighter and thinner than polarized glass. They place 99.9 percent of the glare. Cutting out reflections reduces strains and headaches.

Construction
Hydrolite is placed across the bridge and at the temples. The trimming on the frames reduces slippage because the soft edge adheres to the face, the top of the ears, and the bridge of the nose. The Hydrolite co-injected lining is a feature that the manufacturer feels is worthy of recognition. The lining promotes confidence that the glasses won’t drop. The soft rubber helps glasses stay put even in wet and sweaty conditions. Blackfin sunglasses are available in three color combinations - matte gray/green, matte gray/silver, and matte gray/gray.

Cost and Value
The angler fishing sunglasses are designed to perform. This high-end Blackfin model is developed to take rugged conditions and stay in place while fishing. The glasses are stylish all-purpose that are comfortable and provide clarity. The glasses are perfect for outdoor use on the water. They are geared for medium to large faces. The glasses provide an extremely close fit. The wraparound design offers complete eye protection from harmful sun rays.

2. MERRY'S Polarized Aluminum

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
MERRY'S Polarized Aluminum Sunglasses
MERRY'S Polarized Aluminum Sunglasses
MERRY'S Polarized Aluminum Sunglasses
Amazon Link
Protection
95
Effectiveness
95
Use
93
Features
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.91
Pros:

Polarized

Sturdy Frames

Money-Back Guarantee

Prevent Glares

Cons:

Can Fit Loosely

If you're looking for a great pair of sunglasses that fit the face and keep the sun off of your eyes, you have found them. Fishing has never been easier with this product as the lenses prevent the reflection and keep your eyes relaxed, giving you one less thing to worry about! Versatile for many occasions, these have a great style and shape!

Polarized Lens
Spending the day on the water, the sun can get in the way. The constant reflection off of the water will soon cause irritations and distractions. With these great polarized lenses, you will not have to worry about the annoyance of the sun, only the greatness of the great outdoors.

30 Day Money Back
When you are looking around for a new pair of sunglasses, this set should top the list as they have the greatness of a money-back guarantee! If you have no love for this product, or they break within the first 30 days, no worries! They are covered.

Cost and Value
For a polarized pair of sunglasses, this set runs at a great, affordable price. Wear these glasses anywhere, especially fishing, without having to worry about glares or the annoyance of the sun. Satisfaction is key, with this product!

3. RIVBOS Polarized Sports

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
RIVBOS Polarized Sports Sunglasses
RIVBOS Polarized Sports Sunglasses
RIVBOS Polarized Sports Sunglasses
Amazon Link
Protection
94
Effectiveness
94
Use
93
Features
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.98
Pros:

Lightweight Frames

Polarized

Lifetime Breakage Warranty

Eliminate Reflected Light

Cons:

Rubber Wears

Ready to jump into a comfortable pair of sunglasses? Who isn't? If comfort is key then you have found the right pair of glasses. Added rubber pieces on the back will protect behind your ears and prevent the painful pressure that some glasses can cause. Polarized and UVB protection, these sunglasses will keep you safe and secure, the entire time you are out on the water, fishing!

Mirror Coating Lens
Built tough, these lenses are designed to restore natural beauty while outside, protect you from the harmful rays of the sun, and to also maintain reflections. When you are staring at the water for hours, the reflection can get old. Now, you can look past that!

Lifetime Breakage Warranty
When you run into a lifetime breakage warranty, you know that the company that designed this pair of glasses is confident in the build. Built rugged, this product is designed to go through plenty, always being backed by a breakage warranty.

Cost and Value
For a great, low price, these sunglasses have it all and will fit your needs. Being that they are built tough and made to protect, the price is definitely worth it. Enjoy a nice day on the beach or a ride on the boat because these sunglasses got you covered.

4. Luenx Polarized Aviator

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Luenx Polarized Aviator
Luenx Polarized Aviator
Amazon Link
Protection
91
Effectiveness
92
Use
94
Features
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.99
Pros:

Adjustable hinges for the right fit

Anti-allergy plated frame

Very stylish design

Plenty of accessories included

Cons:

Questionable UV coating

Not very sturdy

Remember Maverick? Need I say more? Okay, maybe a bit more. Aviators are just plain cool. I have a pair, and every time I wear them, "Highway to the Danger Zone" starts playing in my head, and I cannot be stopped. Now imagine taking that feeling and reshaping into a pair of aviators that are meant for fishing or running or any activity really, and you've got yourself some legendary shades.

I like stuff
Don't you? Good. You are getting stuff with these glasses. First off, you'll find the standard cleaning cloth, which is great. On top of that, there's a soft case and a zip-up case, and nifty gift packaging if you like giving gifts. That's class.

Achoo?
It might seem pretty trivial, but some metals can cause irritation to some people. So, when you find a company that decided to be proactive and eliminates the chance of that happening by coating the frame, you have a product worth buying.

Cost and value
Glasses designed to look, function, and feel like a high-end pair, without ever having to worry if you happen to drop or scratch them since they certainly aren't priced high end.

5. Paerde Sports Style Polarized

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Paerde Sports Style Polarized
Paerde Sports Style Polarized
Paerde Sports Style Polarized
Amazon Link
Protection
93
Effectiveness
92
Use
92
Features
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.98
Pros:

Package contains all kinds of goodies

Very easy to clean

100% UV protection

Strong frame construction

Cons:

Lenses tend to be weak

Blurry vision

What's the price of looking good while being practical these days? If you're talking sunglasses, surprisingly not much. Designed with an aluminum-magnesium alloy, they stay together, protect your eyes from the damages of the sun, and look darn sharp, all at a great price. You can't go wrong, really.
Presents!

A great gift!
Not quite, unless you're getting these as a gift for Christmas. On any other day, these come packed with everything you need to keep them looking good for a long time.
So, fresh and so clean.

You did it again
You went for a bike ride and dropped your glasses in the mud. No damage but they are filthy! How do you get them looking new? Run them underwater and give them a wipe. Simple, right?

Cost and value
Face it, sunglasses are disposable. They're not meant to be, necessarily, but it happens. You leave them on a table at a restaurant, you stumble and fall on them after a crazy night of...well, they don't last. At least with these ones, they're priced like disposable glasses for when the inevitable does happen.

6. Torege Polarized Sports

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Torege Polarized Sports
Torege Polarized Sports
Torege Polarized Sports
Amazon Link
Protection
91
Effectiveness
92
Use
92
Features
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.99
Pros:

Flexible lenses

Sits nicely on the face

A wide variety of lenses and frame colors

Built strong yet light

Cons:

Arms can pop off

Poor peripheral vision

Torege’s Polarized Sports Sunglasses with right in line with the rest of the glasses here in terms of performance and function. They do, however, also come with the added perk of being able to choose your lens. On top of all that good stuff, the designers put together a strong, long-lasting product that is bound to make every consumer happy.

Which will I choose today?
Most of the sunglasses reviewed here come with at least some selection of frame colors. These are no exception. What's different though, is that they give you a choice of lenses. These aren't just to look pretty, mind you. Each one handles a different need. That they look good is just a bonus.

Don't drop me! Okay, drop me.
Sounds crazy, I know. You pay good money to have these, and I'm telling you to drop them, possibly damaging them? Yes. Heck, drop them twice. Notice something? They're not even grazed.

Cost and value
Good price, great versatility for every manner of activity, they look good, they're just good any way you look at them. But what about value, is that good? Don't worry, this time I'll choose a more fitting adjective: outstanding.

7. Calcutta Steelhead

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Calcutta Steelhead
Calcutta Steelhead
Calcutta Steelhead
Amazon Link
Protection
92
Effectiveness
92
Use
91
Features
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.03
Pros:

High-quality materials

Ultra-grip nose and temple pads keep them on your face

Good clarity

Classy look

Cons:

Firm fit almost too tight

Bad color distortion

As far as I can tell, Calcutta is a city in a desert in India. I hear it gets very hot and sunny there. What better setting for an incredible pair of sunglasses to originate from? I actually don’t think the designers were thinking about geography when they built this pair. So, it comes as a welcome coincidence that these babies would be the go-to product when traversing said famous desert city.

Goes anywhere you go.
Give your head a shake. Are they still there on your head? Yes, they are. I’ve already said how tough these are, but what good is that if they fall off your head every time you turn your head?

Nice materials
Built with a tough polycarbonate frame and prepared to be sat on, dropped, thrown, or anything else you can manage to inflict on them. The material is so tough, you’d swear these were much more expensive, but nope, the only thing high end here is the quality.

Cost and Value
A dime a dozen. Well almost. These sunglasses are pretty cheap, so on the rare occasion that you do manage to break them, your wallet won’t even notice that you went and bought a new pair.

8. Native Eyewear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Native Eyewear
Native Eyewear
Native Eyewear
Amazon Link
Protection
92
Effectiveness
91
Use
91
Features
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.57
Pros:

Grippy

Nose Pad

Polarized Lenses

Big Lenses

Cons:

Frames A Bit Tight

This pair of wraparound sunglasses is sure to keep the tough reflected rays of the sun off your eyes. They have tough, grippy but flexible frames made of castor resin. They’re polarized to deal with the glare and they have some nice cushiony nose pads that will keep them nice and comfortable on your face so that all you have to think about is landing the big one. And the frames are nice and big to keep that sun at bay.

Polarized
These glasses aren’t just going to keep the sun off your face they’re going to cut that glare that is bouncing off the waves that can be a whole lot worse than just the lenses. It also cuts through the blue sea haze that rises off the water so you can get a really clear view of your surroundings without squinting. After a while, you won’t be able to live without these shades.

Tough frames
The frames of these glasses have a lot going for them. They’re tough but flexible and they’ll grip your face easily and solidly without being uncomfortable. The frames are molded with a tough but flexible plastic that will ensure that they stay in place and don’t slide down your nose as they age. We also like the nose pads that will keep them in place.

Cost and Value
These shades come in at a pretty hefty price tag, but they do come with a guaranteed free return if for some reason they don’t work for you. We don’t think that will be a problem here, with this polarized grippy pair of frames but it’s good to know that you have the option.

9. Filthy Anglers

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Filthy Anglers
Filthy Anglers
Filthy Anglers
Amazon Link
Protection
91
Effectiveness
90
Use
90
Features
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.98
Pros:

Glare Proof

Polarized

Tough Frames

Scratch Resistant

Cons:

A Bit Uncomfortable

We’d love these shades just for their name but the fact is that this a great pair of fishing glasses that are going to keep your eyes protected on even the toughest brightest summer days. These are big frames and the lenses are polarized and glare-proof so they pretty much guarantee a clear view no matter how strong the glare is off the water. We also like that the frames and the lenses are scratch proof and shatterproof because things can get rough out on the water.

Strong Lenses
These lenses are coated to be scratch-proof and they’re built from a polycarbonate material that will resist shattering. Part of their being so safe is the fact that they’re polarized and resist glare so you’ll get a good view off the water no matter how bright things get.

Optically Correct
This is a bit of an unusual feature in that no matter how hard you try, light coming through lenses is going to get distorted just a bit which is why some glasses make you feel a bit weird after wearing them for a long time. But these lenses are made with adjustable thickness to minimize any distortion and give you a 100% accurate view.

Cost and Value
We love the price of these glasses. One of the cheapest on our list these Filthy Anglers are guaranteed to do the trick and keep you seeing clearly on the water all day long.

10. Oakley Holbrook

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Oakley Holbrook
Oakley Holbrook
Oakley Holbrook
Amazon Link
Protection
90
Effectiveness
89
Use
89
Features
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.99
Pros:

Tough Frames

Filter out All UV Rays

Glare Proof

Comfortable

Cons:

Frames Aren’t As Tough As Advertised

Good Old Oakley, the choice of surfers and fishermen on the West Coast for years. They get their name because of their quality over time and this pair of glasses is one of their best. These glasses are built to withstand all kinds of UVA light and they’re also built to be smash proof but comfortable.

High Quality Optics
These glasses will filter out almost all kinds of UV light but they’ll also keep out damaging blue light glare that can obscure your vision. They’re also built to be optically correct and give you a 100 percent correction vision of what you’re seeing.

Tough Frame
Snowboarder Shaun White worked with Oakley to make these frames able to stand up to a snowboard wipeout so you can be sure they’ll stand up to anything that you’re going to run into on a fishing boat.

Cost and Value
A pretty pricey pair of frames but you’re paying for the Oakley name and in this case, that’s a good thing. This is a great pair of glasses and if you want to keep your eyes safe on the water it’s definitely worth the money.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Protection

Several eye diseases and issues can arise from overexposure to the harmful, ultraviolet light, that comes from the sun. It is highly recommended that if you are planning to be in the sun for long periods of time, you should use some sort of eyewear or protection against the dangerous rays.

Most experts recommend that you use a set of sunglasses that protects against 100% UVA/UVB, most commonly named or marked UV400. The reason these glasses are marked with UV400 is that they are identifying the protection of the wavelengths at 400 m. This protection is highly essential to living by as this will prevent the disease and cancer from penetrating the ocular areas.

Effectiveness

The sun on the water is a very distracting mishap that will lead to errors while fishing. With the blinding reflection of the water, you cannot see anything. Most fishing sunglasses that are designed for sporting are in place to prevent these glares and offset the brightness.

With the brightness and the long hours in the sun during sporting events, you also pose the risk of damages. While fishing derbies last all day long, the sun doesn’t get any less as the day goes on. Most sunglasses carry a solid UVA/UVB protection that will protect, but not entirely prevents ocular diseases caused by the sun. With the protection that you get from the sunglasses, you are taking a healthy step in the right direction.

Use

While fishing sunglasses are incredibly popular for a multitude of things, even hiding identities, they are mostly known for their use in the sporting world. There are many reasons that sunglasses are used for sporting and many that they are not, but for those sports that require a pair of sunglasses, it is a well-needed reason.

When you are out, enjoying a beautiful day on the water, chances are it is sunny. Being able to see what you are doing while you are fishing is incredibly important as you need to see what you are reeling in. If you are bringing in a trophy prize, you want absolutely no distractions.

Features

There are several different lenses available for those that are looking at getting a new pair of sunglasses for fishing. Depending on what you are looking for, you will have several lenses from which to choose. While the majority of the lenses on the market today are polarized, they all serve different purposes and offer various features. Here are some of the lens options available:

Neutral Colors
If you are looking for a lens that is neutral and will offer you natural looks and feels to the world, then a green or gray lens is the lens for you.

Increased Contrast
Looking for bold, popping colors? A brown lens will give you increased contrast and a brighter look to things in the great outdoors.

Highlight Contrast
Turquoise lenses are great for giving you a brighter color contrast to the world. They are well known for this but do not distort color like the brown lenses may.

Snow Haze
People who enjoy winter will usually use a lens that is yellow. Although a yellow lens creates an unwanted light or glare, they are ideal for looking at things in the snow, but usually, cause distortion.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Protect Your Eyes

Sunglasses were initially designed to help protect the eyes against the sun's harshest rays and the visible damages that the sun puts off. So many times the sun has affected the way that we view things or the way that we see, especially when it is directly in our eyes. Being that the eyes are one of the primary senses that we depend on to see, it is wise to keep them as protected as possible. UV and blue light are the most harmful of the rays that come from the light and sunglasses protect your eyes from these damages.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why do I need fishing sunglasses?

a:

While fishing you’re likely to be exposed to the sun whether on a boat or land so sunglasses serve a general purpose of protecting your eyes from harmful UV rays. They also take a great picture when you pose with your much-deserved catch.

q: Why should I use polarized lenses?

a:

The UV protection is not the only purpose fishing sunglasses serve, and not even the most important when it comes to effective fishing. Sunglasses are great, especially if they are polarized as they block reflections and glares that bounce off surfaces including water. What does this mean? Well, since a polarized lens negates any glare from the water’s surface, fishermen are able to see through the surface of the water and pre-meditate their cast according to where the fish are enabling a much higher success rate. Without glare, you can also be more aware of your surroundings without the blinding hinderance, submerged or not.

q: How do I properly clean sunglass lenses?

a:

Using warm water, rinse the sunglasses to get any loose dirt or oils off or any other matter from the surface to prep them for the next step. For the next step, dish soap works great, but a specific cleaner can be used as well but is not needed. Lather the shades with the soap until sudsy, making sure to be extremely thorough. Dawn soap works well and will effectively remove any grease or oils from the shades.

A soft toothbrush and microfiber cloth can be used to further clean the hard to scrub or hard to reach places. Now you can wash all of the cleaning soap off and you will be left with a shiny pair of sunglasses. Using a dry microfiber cloth, dry them off. Make sure to not use a towel or paper towel or you will end up with a mess of lint or other materials. Your fishing sunglasses are now clean.

q: What type of lenses help with reflection on the water?

a:

Polarized lenses help with reflection, but that’s only a general statement. If you want to dig deeper, it’s the sunglasses that reduce light intensity which is typical for lenses that are of particular color shades such as dark grays, greens, and ambers. With these colored lenses, the intensity of glares or redirected light can be reduced up to ninety-percent but they are limited only to sunny days as they will hinder your eyesight too much on overcast days or when the sun is not in full effect. You will also do good to get yourself polarized lenses that are also mirrored. Being mirrored isn’t just for a popping look. It holds a practical use in reflecting incoming light away from the eyes and works in unison with polarized lenses but typically doesn’t hinder eyesight during not-so-sunny days or evenings.

Sources

  1. American Academy of Ophthamology, How to Choose the Best Sunglasses,
  2. All About Vision, Sunglasses,
  3. eBay, 5 Things to Consider When Buying Sunglasses,
  4. Revant, How to Clean Sunglasses,