to top 10 table

Best Fishing Pole Racks Reviewed and Rated for Quality

last updated: Jun 06, 2019

Every great fisherman keeps a tidy tackle box to ensure that lures, bobbers, heavy sinkers, and hooks don’t become one giant, tangled mess--and a potentially dangerous one at that. After all, a tangled disaster is not only frustrating, it may also result in you damaging your gear.

And just as important as it is to keep the smaller bits of your fishing gear organized, so is maintaining order with your larger pieces as well. But let’s face it, that’s not always easy, so we’re here to help.

Here we feature tons of different fishing racks so that you can get the right storage for your needs. The racks on this list mount overhead, horizontally and vertically on the wall, and stand upright on the ground. So whatever your space, and whether you have 6 rods or 12, there’s a rack on this list for you.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
KastKing
100/100 our score
Capacity
100
Materials
100
Versatility
100
Durability
100
Value
100
KastKing
Why is it better?

Holds up to 24 rods

Lightweight aluminum is portable

Unit is rust-resistant

Small footprint, easy to assemble

Padded holders keep gear safe

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
KastKing
Test Winner: KastKing
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
3000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Capacity Materials Versatility Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
Capacity
100 %
Materials
100 %
Versatility
100 %
Durability
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Capacity
100 %
Materials
99 %
Versatility
96 %
Durability
99 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Capacity
98 %
Materials
98 %
Versatility
98 %
Durability
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Cabelas
$23.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$25.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Capacity
95 %
Materials
96 %
Versatility
96 %
Durability
98 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$9.96
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Capacity
98 %
Materials
98 %
Versatility
92 %
Durability
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Cabelas
$34.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$35.42
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Capacity
97 %
Materials
95 %
Versatility
93 %
Durability
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Capacity
96 %
Materials
93 %
Versatility
94 %
Durability
92 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$17.98
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Capacity
99 %
Materials
92 %
Versatility
90 %
Durability
92 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Capacity
94 %
Materials
90 %
Versatility
90 %
Durability
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$16.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Capacity
90 %
Materials
86 %
Versatility
88 %
Durability
88 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.02.20)
Amazon Link
$26.85

10 Best Fishing Pole Racks

1. KastKing

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
100
KastKing
Amazon Link
Capacity
100
Materials
100
Versatility
100
Durability
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Holds up to 24 rods

Lightweight aluminum is portable

Unit is rust-resistant

Small footprint, easy to assemble

Padded holders keep gear safe

Cons:

Can’t hold 24 rods with reels on them

The KastKing is the first to make our list and it’s not hard to see why. This is one of the most durable and portable options that we feature. It works as well at home in the garage as it does on the boat and can easily be moved between the two so you can take all of the rods that you need with you on the go.

Fits 12 or 24 Rods
The rack from KastKing comes in 2 different sizes. The 12-rod holder is great for smaller rods like the ones you would use to go river fishing. The 24-rod holder is great for all styles of rods and can accommodate even large saltwater fishing poles. The 24-rod holder is also only marginally more expensive than the 12-rod, so it’s a reasonable upgrade.

Despite being able to hold all of your rods, the KastKing won’t take up a ton of floor-space. When assembled, it measures 29 inches tall, 29 inches long, and 13 inches deep. This product does require some assembly, but you won’t need any tools or a Ph.D. to get it up and ready for use.

Light, Rust-Resistant Aluminum
The fishing pole rack from KastKing is made from aluminum that is both lightweight and rust-resistant. That means that this puppy is super portable and easy to take on the go. And if you decide to pull it onto the boat, it won’t rust away if it gets wet or exposed to salty air and water (though it’s best to rinse with fresh water and pat dry when your fishing day is done).

This product features holders that are cushioned to keep your rods from being damaged, and the unique design of this product ensures that your rods are kept securely in place.

Cost and Value
This option from KastKing rings up at the very top of our price range but we love its value because it is lightweight and super portable with a small footprint, despite being able to hold up to 24 rods at once. Plus, you can take it on the boat without worrying about rust damage and it will keep your rods securely in place without damaging your gear.

2. Rack'em Overhead

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Rack'em Overhead
Amazon Link
Capacity
100
Materials
99
Versatility
96
Durability
99
Value
100
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$29.46
Pros:

Truly hold 12 rods with their reels

Holds rods of all shapes and sizes

Can be installed indoors and outdoors

Made from super durable steel

Has adjustable width

Cons:

Rods move around in choppy waters

The Rack'em Overhead Fishing Rod Rack is a great option if you’re looking to get your rods off the ground or out of the corner and safely stored overhead. These can be installed both outdoors and indoors and won’t be damaged by the elements. So whether you need permanent storage on your boat on in your garage, this could be just the right rack for you.

Holds Rods with Their Reels
This product from Rack’em can hold up to 12 rods at a time. If you store rods alternating in opposite directions, then you can successfully store the 12 of your best rods with their reels on them (a problem with some other competitors on the market). Unlike some others out there, this product can hold rods of all shapes and sizes.

The Rack’em is 28 inches long and hangs 4 inches off of the ceiling. Remember, you want to hang your rack overhead with as much clearance and possible to eliminate the possibility of getting poked in the eye by your rods. We love that the width on this product is adjustable so you can install it to fit your exact needs.

Made from Durable Steel
The Rack’em is made from super strong steel which serves several functions. For one, it won’t buckle under the weight of rods and reels. For two, it can stand up well to the elements. It will resist rust from salty air and water, as well as sun damage which makes this an ideal candidate for outdoor installation.
That being said, some users report the rods bouncing free when they hit rough waters like you might experience when you're going deep sea fishing.

Cost and Value
This option from Rack’em rings up towards the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is super affordable while being super durable. Plus, it can truly hold 12 rods with their reels on and if can be installed outdoors without weathering easily.

3. Rapala Lock 'n' Hold

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Rapala Lock 'n' Hold
Amazon Link
Capacity
98
Materials
98
Versatility
98
Durability
98
Value
98
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$25.99
Cabelas
$23.99
See Deal
Pros:

Multiple different installation configurations

Can be used indoors and outdoors

Easy to install with needed hardware

More room between holders

Locking mechanism holds tight

Cons:

Short butt on bottom bracket

The Rapala Lock 'n' Hold Rod Rack is a super cost-efficient option for those with their budget in mind. It is versatile and can be installed vertically or horizontally on the wall and even on the ceiling. Plus, you can use this puppy indoors or outdoors to suit your exact needs.

Tons of Install Options
The Rapala is one of the more versatile products on our list. You can install this rack both vertically and horizontally on the wall. You can also install it overhead if that suits your storage needs better. This feature makes it a great choice for your boat as well, though reviewers do mention the rods can pop free on super choppy waters.

And installation is a breeze. All the necessary hardware comes included with your purchase and you’ll just need to make sure both brackets are aligned. You have the flexibility to adjust the length between the brackets so that you can get a fit for any space you’re in. Brackets measure 18 and a half inches long.

Locks In Place
To store rods with this product, the bottom bracket holds the base of the rod to take the pressure off of the rod eyes. Then you pop the rods into place on the top bracket with a sort of tooth locking mechanism. This hold is tight and secure without damaging the rod.

These brackets are longer than other similar products which means they can store the advertised amount of rods (with their reels on them) more easily. With about 2 inches between each holder, your reels have more space for storage.

Cost and Value
This option from Rapala rings up on the lower end of our price range and we love its value because it features so many different installation options and because it can be used on the boat and in the home.

4. Berkley BAVRR Vertical

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Berkley BAVRR Vertical
Amazon Link
Capacity
95
Materials
96
Versatility
96
Durability
98
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.96
Pros:

Adjustable height

Padded grips to hold rods in place

Corrosion resistant material

Super small wall footprint

Incredibly inexpensive

Cons:

Foam is super first at first

The Berkley BAVRR Vertical Rod Rack is the most affordable item on our list but it gets the job done just right. This is the perfect option for someone on a budget with limited space. It’s super easy to install and will securely hold your rods, and it is best intended for indoor use.

Adjustable Height
The Berkley is a great option for those with limited room. It will fit 6 rods in just about 14 inches wide of storage space. You may have a little trouble fitting all of your rods with their reels on them in this limited space, however.

You are able to adjust the distance between each bracket to accommodate your specific rods, but the Berkley is designed to accept all rod types.

Foam Padded Grips
The Berkley is super lightweight but still durable. It is corrosion resistant so you won’t have to worry about salty rods eating away at the quality. Install is a breeze, though you will likely want to use your own hardware to secure it to the wall.

It features foam padded grips on the top bracket that lock and hold your rod in place. The bottom bracket also features foam that grips the rod as it rests in place.

Cost and Value
This option from Berkley rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we love its value because it can store rods of any size, and despite only holding 6 rods at a time, you could order 2 or 3 of these for less than half the price of our most expensive rod holder.

5. Rush Creek Creations

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Rush Creek Creations
Amazon Link
Capacity
98
Materials
98
Versatility
92
Durability
96
Value
96
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$35.42
Cabelas
$34.99
See Deal
Pros:

Can store 16 rods and their reels

Made from real wood

Comes in 3 different finish colors

Small footprint in the home

Soft clips adjust to rod taper

Cons:

Top piece spins if not glued

The Rush Creek Creations Rack is a wonderful storage round that is nice to look at as well. Made from real wood with a couple of cool color options, this is a great choice for your fishing lodge that will class up the decor as well.

Made from Real Wood
The Rush Creek is made from a solid wood top and bottom. The pieces are durable and handcrafted and will stand the test of time. You can select between 3 finishes that will fit any fishing lodge’s decor. Rush Creek offers this product in barn wood, camo, and wood grain laminate.

Soft Clips for All Rods
The Rush Creek can hold up to 16 rods at a time. With 16 padded bases on the bottom, the butt of your rod will fit snugly. The top plate features 16 soft rod clips that can adjust to the taper of any rod and will hold your pole snugly without damaging it.

The design of this product allows you to store more rods with their reels on them. Though this is a round storage rack, it does not spin.

Cost and Value
This option from Rush Creek rings up towards the top of our price range and we love its value because it offers style in functionality. Because it can accommodate 16 rods with their reels, this is a great storage option that doesn’t end up taking up tons of space.

6. Fast Ship Outdoor Ceiling

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Fast Ship Outdoor Ceiling
Amazon Link
Capacity
97
Materials
95
Versatility
93
Durability
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Wide brackets for more storage space

Holds up to 12 rods and their reels

Coated in PVC for durability

Weather resistant

Can be installed in campers

Cons:

Not-so-fast shipping

The Fast Ship is an excellent option for ceiling installs in your garage, in your camper, or in your truck. With ample space between holders, you can store your rods with their reels on them. And this product is designed to hold any kind of rod you have in your arsenal.

Wide Space Between Holders
The Fast Ship Outdoor can hold up to 12 rods with their reels on them. If you store rods in alternate directions, you will have plenty of storage space without your rods and reels getting tangled or bumping into each other and causing damage. The rack itself is 34 inches long.

PVC Coated Wire to Protect Rods
The Fast Ship Outdoor is made from wire that has been coated in PVC to ensure that your rods are scratched or damaged while they are being stored. This also makes the product super durable. Rain, saltwater, and sun won’t bring this puppy down.

It is easy to install and comes with all the necessary hardware that you need for installation. It can only be installed on the ceiling as far apart as you need for your storage purposes. Remember to try to install with enough clearance so that pole ends are not at eye level.

Cost and Value
This option from Fast Ship Outdoor rings up in the low middle of our price range and we love its value because it features a wide enough bracket that it can actually store the 12 rods even with their spinning reels. Plus, this product comes with a bonus fishing rod and cleaning cloth. Beat that!

7. Campingandkayaking

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Campingandkayaking
Amazon Link
Capacity
96
Materials
93
Versatility
94
Durability
92
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.98
Pros:

Comes in 2 sizes: 6/9 rod

Can be mounted horizontally on wall

Can be mounted on ceiling

Can double up on storage

Strong yet gentle polypropylene webbing

Cons:

Rods can get stuck on loops

The Campingandkayaking Fishing Rod Rack is a nice option that is designed a little differently than other products on our list. With webbing instead of hooks, this product can be installed either horizontally on the wall or on the ceiling.

2 Installation Options
This rack and be installed in 2 different ways. You can install the product horizontally on the wall or on the ceiling. Because gravity is basically responsible for holding your poles in place, it is not a good idea to install this product vertically on the wall.

Installing the product takes no time, and all necessary hardware is included.

Made from Polypropylene Webbing
This option is made from polypropylene webbing that is at the same time strong and durable as well as soft on your rods. You can choose between two different storage options: the 6-rod holder and the 9-rod holder. The 6-rod holder measures 46 inches long and the 9-rod holder measures 72 inches long.

The webbing loops are far enough apart to hold 6 or 9 rods with their reels. In fact, if necessary, you can even double up rods in each loop, just keep in mind that doing so may cause damage to your rods if they rub together.

Cost and Value
The Campingandkayaking Fishing Rod Rack rings up towards the bottom of our price range and we like its value because it features versatile installation options and unique design.

8. Rush Creek Creations Cart

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Rush Creek Creations Cart
Amazon Link
Capacity
99
Materials
92
Versatility
90
Durability
92
Value
85
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$51.60
Pros:

Stores 12 freshwater rods and reels

Offers 3 storage shelves in addition

Shelves made from durable carbon fiber

Steel frame is powder coated

Whole cart is on 4 wheels

Cons:

Won’t accommodate larger saltwater poles

The Rush Creek Creations Storage Tackle Cart is the mack daddy of fishing storage. Not only will it store up to 12 of your rods, but it will also house your tackle boxes, fishing vests, fishing line, and all sorts of other fishing gear that you might have. And with its super durable design, you will be able to stay organized year after fishing year.

Storage for 12 Freshwater Rods
This option from Rush Creek Creations offers up 12 storage spots for your freshwater rods. There are 6 storage spots on either side of the cart. The bottom base features smooth notches for the butts of your rods to rest in, while the top features soft rod clips that adjust to the width of each of your rods. While they do adjust, they are best intended for the width of freshwater rods.

Tons of Additional Storage
The Rush Creek Creations cart doesn’t stop at rod storage--it gives you tons of other storage options as well.

The whole unit features 3 shelves for storing all of your fishing gear. The top and bottom shelves are weave laminated in carbon fiber for top-notch durability and long life. The middle shelf is made of wire and is adjustable so you can modify the distance between the shelves to suit your specific storage needs.

The steel frame is powder coated for even more durability and to ensure against scratches and dings during many fishing seasons to come. Plus, the whole unit is mounted on 4 casters that are smooth rolling so that you can have easy access to all sides at any time.

All told, the cart is a little over 3 feet tall, about 2 feet wide, and almost 16 inches deep. While it seems like there are a lot of parts to assemble, you can have this puppy put together in about 5 minutes time.

Cost and Value
This option from Rush Creek Creations rings up at the very top of our price range but it offers up features that other products on our list simply do not. With more storage options than any other product on our list and super durable construction, this particular item is worth shelling out the extra money for.

9. Organized Fishing Ceiling

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Organized Fishing Ceiling
Amazon Link
Capacity
94
Materials
90
Versatility
90
Durability
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.99
Pros:

Can hold 9 full-sized rods

Opposite side storage for more space

Can be installed on the ceiling

May be installed horizontally on wall

Made from beautifully strong pine

Cons:

Can warp when super wet

The Organized Fishing Ceiling Rack is another super affordable option to make our list. It is made from real pine, so it’s actually got some aesthetic appeal, and its design allows you to store more rods in less space. So if you’re on a budget, this could very well be the rack that you are looking for.

Made from Solid Pine
The Organized Fishing Ceiling Rack is made from solid pine with a surprisingly beautiful finish. Not only is this rack durable, but it looks really nice as well.

This product is easy to install with a few simple screws. It is meant to be installed on the ceiling. That being said, you could install this piece horizontally on the wall, but because of its design, you would lose half of the storage spaces.

Unique Design Holds 9
The unique design of this option from Organized Fishing allows it to hold up to 9 rods. Because of the way it is made, you place the rods facing in opposite directions. While this is customary on metal hook rods, this is the first non-metal holder on our list to be designed this way.

As a result, you can store 9 full-sized rods with their reels without worrying about space. Each pine bracket measures 22 and a half inches long and will stick out about 2 and 3 quarter inches from the ceiling. Remember to try to leave enough head space so you don’t poke your eye out on your fishing rod.

Cost and Value
This option from Organized Fishing rings up at the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is made from beautiful, solid pine and because it has a unique design that optimizes storage space.

10. Redneck Convent

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Redneck Convent
Amazon Link
Capacity
90
Materials
86
Versatility
88
Durability
88
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.85
Pros:

Can hold up to 16 rods

Cool fish design

Has handles so it’s easy to carry

Is lightweight and portable

Easy to assemble

Cons:

Hard to fit 16 poles with reels

The Redneck Convent Display Rack is exactly that--part rack and part display. With some cool design flairs and tons of storage, this is a great way to get your poles organized and off the floor. And the kicker is that this guy is totally portable so you can carry your gear with you on the go.

Nice Fish Design
The Redneck Convent Display Rack has some cool design features that will make you want to display your gear in full view instead of hiding baby in a corner. Either side is flanked with a full-size fish design with the mouth holes being the handles that you can carry and transport this unit with. Plus, the black and white design make this a great fit for more aesthetics.

Holds Up to 16 Rods
This option from Redneck Convent can hold up to 16 poles. They are not spaced very far apart so you may have a hard time fitting 16 poles in the holder with their reels on them. Each side is designed to hold 8 rods a piece.

This product is easy to assemble. It comes with clear directions and necessary hardware. You’ll just need to provide the screwdriver (phillips head). The stand is made from hard plastic. Once assembled, it measures 32 inches tall, 17 and a half inches wide, and 8 inches deep.

Cost and Value
The Redneck Convent Display Rack rings up in the middle of our price range and we like its value because it is easily portable and because it has a cool design that can hold any fishing pole size.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Capacity

When making this Ten Best List, we heavily factored in the capacity that each product has to carry rods, and we worked to bring you the true capacity details.

Fishing racks on this list can hold anywhere from 6 to 24 fishing rods. But it is important to note that while these racks can hold as many rods as they say they can, they might not be able to hold your rods with the reel on them.

If you have multiple rods that are similar and you interchange one reel among them, this probably won’t be a problem for you. But if you have many different styles of rods that require different styles of reels, you are likely going to want to go with a rack that allows for enough space to store your rods with the reels on them.

Of course, If you buy a smaller 12-rod rack and only have 6 rods to store, space won’t be a problem as you can store each rod one space apart. This may become an issue if you decide to purchase more rods, however.

Materials

When making this list, we considered the materials that each product is made out of. The items on this list are made in a variety of styles from a variety of different materials.

Some of our racks are made from real wood. These pieces are treated and are solid. They look nice and add a bit of aesthetic beauty to your storage piece. That being said, these are designed to be used indoors as they have the potential to warp if left exposed to the elements for extended periods of time.

We also feature products that are made from steel and coated wire. These products are durable and resist the elements which make them a good fit for using outdoors. You can feel good about installing these on your boat without worry about them wearing away with exposure to sun and salty water and air.

Too, we feature a variety of plastic products. Some are simple brackets with padded soft clips or jaw-teeth that hold your rods in place. Some are stand up racks that are lightweight. With these products, you need to take them on a case by case basis to decide whether or not they are ideal for outdoor use.

And less commonly, we also feature a polypropylene weave fabric that holds rods. This product is definitely intended for indoor use, but the fabric is strong enough to hold yet soft enough not to damage or scratch your rods.

Versatility

When we think about versatility for these products, we think about what kind of rods can be stored in each product, whether a product is intended to be used indoors or outdoors, and how each product can be installed.

There are a few different installation options you will see on this list. Racks may be installed horizontally on the wall. They may also be installed vertically on the wall. Additionally, products can be mounted on the ceiling.

While some items can only be mounted one way, many of the options on our list are able to be mounted in multiple different ways. These score highly in the versatility category.
Products that can be used both indoors and outdoors without causing damage to the item also score highly in this category.

And finally, products that are designed to be able to hold both smaller, freshwater rods and larger, deep sea rods score highly in this category.

Durability

When considering durability, we look at how long a product will last when exposed to the elements. Products that are made from stronger materials that resist weathering score highly in this category.

Value

The products on this Ten Best List are loaded with value. Not only are they a really affordable way to get your fishing gear organized, but they are easy to install and they can make your fishing trips much more easeful and enjoyable. Plus, the products on this list are long-lasting and many of them cost next to nothing.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Do You Need Portability?

Consider this question for a moment. Most of the products on our list are permanent installs. That means once they go up, they aren’t really going anywhere unless you painstakingly uninstall them and reinstall them somewhere else.
If you just plan on grabbing a couple of rods and going, then this might not be a problem for you, but if you like to take all your rods with you when you hit your rivers, lakes, and seas, you may want to go with a more portable option.
There are a few items on our list that are designed to be portable. They are lightweight and durable and are easy to carry. So if you’re the kind of fisherman who packs lots of gear on every trip, go with the portable guys.

Function or Fashion?

The more expensive items on the market are generally more expensive because they are nicer to look at and they hold slightly more rods. So ask yourself, are looks worth paying a lot more for?
If your answer is no, go with one of the cheaper, plastic racks on our list. You can buy 2 or 3 of these racks to fit all of your organizational needs at less than half the price of the most expensive and inclusive rack on our list.

Other Factors to Consider

Weather Resistance

Weather resistance was a consideration for us as a subset of each the product’s materials, versatility, and durability.

Some of the products on our list are comprised of materials that have been specially treated to resist weathering. These products are in turn more versatile because they can be installed indoors and outdoors. And these products are also more durable because they don’t succumb to the elements as easily as non-treated products.

Portability

Portability was a small factor we looked at when making this list. We worked to include a few portable options so that folks who like to take all of their gear on the road have products to choose from.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What if I need to store both large, saltwater rods and small, freshwater rods?

a:

Most of the products on our list can accommodate both. Only 2 of our products are designed only to hold small rods. The beauty of products that can hold larger saltwater rods is that they can all hold freshwater rods as well.

q: Do I have to alternate storage directions when storing rods in ceiling mounted racks?

a:

Only if you are storing rods with the reels on them and you require extra space.

q: Can I leave my rods in the rack on my boat?

a:

Technically, yes. But leaving them exposed to the elements for long periods of time when they’re not in use will likely cause them to deteriorate more quickly than you would like.

Sources

  1. Todd Hollowell, Protect and Organize Your Fishing Rods, Article
  2. Andy Crawford, Keep rods organized, safe, Article
  3. Steve Ryan, Organizing Fishing Gear, Article