to top 10 table

Best Fiber Supplements Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Mar 07, 2019

We are going to take some time to cover a supplement that can be healthy if you use them correctly but can be very detrimental if you are not taking things up with your doctor first. The first step is to try and decide what you are missing and adjust your diet to include things that have the missing element. Fiber is especially important to work into the diet correctly because, for all its benefits, it can add health issues if you aren’t careful.
This top ten is meant for people who need the benefits of added fiber, but who have a difficult time adding enough of it into their diets. If you think this can help you and you haven’t discussed it yet with a health physician, we highly recommend doing so!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 38 hrs of research

icon
Vitamin Bounty 50 Probiotic
97.6/100 our score
Effectiveness
99
Potency
97
Use
98
Side Effects
96
Value
98
Vitamin Bounty 50 Probiotic
Why is it better?

Veggie capsules

Easy to swallow

Longer digestion, more nutrition

13 probiotic strains

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Vitamin Bounty 50 Probiotic
Test Winner: Vitamin Bounty 50 Probiotic
Interviewed Experts
5
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Total Readers
10500
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
142
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
38
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Effectiveness Potency Use Side Effects Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Effectiveness
99%
Potency
97%
Use
98%
Side Effects
96%
Value
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$34.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Effectiveness
98%
Potency
97%
Use
95%
Side Effects
95%
Value
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$15.24
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Effectiveness
97%
Potency
94%
Use
95%
Side Effects
96%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$16.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Effectiveness
95%
Potency
91%
Use
97%
Side Effects
93%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$6.49
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Effectiveness
95%
Potency
94%
Use
93%
Side Effects
92%
Value
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$24.39
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Effectiveness
93%
Potency
90%
Use
91%
Side Effects
93%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$25.44
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Effectiveness
91%
Potency
89%
Use
88%
Side Effects
90%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$21.24
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Effectiveness
88%
Potency
87%
Use
92%
Side Effects
91%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$36.26
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Effectiveness
85%
Potency
87%
Use
92%
Side Effects
90%
Value
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$14.69
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Effectiveness
86%
Potency
85%
Use
89%
Side Effects
90%
Value
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.03.19)
$12.37
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Vitamin Bounty 50 Probiotic
  • NOW Psyllium Husk 500
  • Pure for Men
  • L'il Critters Fiber Gummy Bears
  • Kirkland Signature OPTIFIBER
  • Metamucil Multi-Health
  • Metamucil Multi-Health
  • Fiber Choice Prebiotic
  • Garden of Life Prebiotic
  • Philips' Fiber Good Gummies
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Fiber Supplements

1. Vitamin Bounty 50 Probiotic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Vitamin Bounty 50 Probiotic
Effectiveness
99
Potency
97
Use
98
Side Effects
96
Value
98
best offer for today
$34.95
Pros:

Veggie capsules

Easy to swallow

Longer digestion, more nutrition

13 probiotic strains

Cons:

Carries grains (allergy reactions)

Probiotic and ‘all natural’ go hand in hand. We all know this and have seen the commercials for every food that has probiotics in them. When we go for a fiber supplement we want to feel we aren’t ingesting something unnatural at the same time. In this case, you may want to look at this one for your wellness needs.

Read more

Veggie Capsules
Having a natural capsule coating is a great plus when you are wanting to take something for health reasons. Instead of wondering what else you are digesting by taking the tab, you know the ingredients are natural and can be easily digested by your stomach. No questions here if you are wanting to approach from the side of dietary caution!

13 Probiotic Strains!
Most fiber supplements only have one or two probiotics to them, however, some of us require more to get what we need out of it. With Vitamin Bounty you are getting 13 strains all together, and with the slow to digest veggie capsule, all of them will get where you need them to go and won’t be absorbed to quickly by your body to reach their intended location, giving your stomach and intestinal track the boost it needs!

Cost and Value
We feel that given the all-natural coating, the added probiotic strains and the number of capsules you get in a bottle, you are definitely getting your money’s worth. The dosage per capsule is clearly given in the ingredients and is higher than average as well, meaning you get more per pill. The value is great if what you need is more for less.

2. NOW Psyllium Husk 500

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
NOW Psyllium Husk 500
Effectiveness
98
Potency
97
Use
95
Side Effects
95
Value
96
best offer for today
$15.24
Pros:

Gluten-free

Non-GMO

Dairy and nut-free

Water soluble

500mg dose

Cons:

No refund

Must be taken with plenty of liquid

If the psyllium strain of fiber is what your doctor recommends, this may be your first stop for a supplement. The veggie capsule is a bonus that many are starting to implement, but Now took it a step further! Read below for more information.

Read more

Allergies?
If you have a lot of allergies or even just a few, sometimes finding the right supplement can become very difficult. Often you will find that the way the supplement is delivered (the capsule) or what it contains to give you the benefits is something taken from or provided by something you are allergic to. This product provides the best of its type of fiber while removing many of the common allergens that others like it contain. The only downside to this is that it requires you follow directions to the letter and drink lots of fluids for it to digest and work properly.

Water Soluble
Since this is a pill that requires you to drink a lot of liquid in order for it to work, the Now team took an easy step forward to help. This capsule is made so you can let it dissolve into a liquid to start with and drink it! What a way to help you remember to follow directions! Some of us worry that if we drink our pill down the capsule might get stuck in our throat, and that can be quite uncomfortable. Instead, Now favored the chance to make sure that isn’t an issue.

Cost and Value
This is one of the cheaper large bottle fiber supplements of its type on the market. Between that and its dosage size, we feel it offers a great value for what it gives. Of course, as we suggested, Now specifically recommends taking exactly what you need and to also take it as per the instructions on the bottle. The fact that this company takes your wellness to the point of making sure they clearly mark how to use it is a great plus in our books!

3. Pure for Men

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Pure for Men
Effectiveness
97
Potency
94
Use
95
Side Effects
96
Value
95
best offer for today
$16.99
Pros:

Designed to keep things solid

All-natural ingredients

Based on men's needs

Clean digestive tract and less mess

Cons:

May not mix well with other medications

Need something specifically aimed at men? Sometimes just your weight and age aren’t enough to work with your body. If you have a specific set of levels your body needs, making sure it is built for your gender is important. Take a look at what this does to see if it’s the right fit for you.

Read more

All Natural!
This is definitively a thing for any and all supplements. Every time we can see and confirm that the claim is true, we will have it as what makes the product great. The fiber itself serves as this one's capsule, and the additional ingredients only make it work even better. According to everything we have seen, the Aloe Vera addition is what takes this from great to perfect. It cleans better than most and it does so without any nasty after effects.

Solid Results
While many fiber supplements help with what goes on inside your body, this one helps from start to finish! Going easier doesn’t always include going cleaner, but with this one it does. Your insides are cleaner, and everything leaves less of a mess. While that may seem like we are overdoing our information if it’s the truth, why wouldn’t you want to know?

Cost and Value
You get a lot of capsules in this one bottle, and for its price it’s great. If taken as designed, it only needs to be used twice a day, and within a week it will leave you feeling so much better than you’ll be ready for anything! Nothing could be worth more than being able to go out and have a great time without having to worry if you are going to be ready for what might happen later! Just be sure that if you are on any other supplements or medications to check with your doctor before grabbing yourself a bottle.

4. L'il Critters Fiber Gummy Bears

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
L'il Critters Fiber Gummy Bears
Effectiveness
95
Potency
91
Use
97
Side Effects
93
Value
94
best offer for today
$6.49
Pros:

Made for kids

Berry Flavored

Well-known brand

Gluten-free

Cons:

Sugar-free

Little tummies can have a surprising amount of issues switching from a liquid diet to a more solid one. If it’s your precious bundle of energy that you need to find the right amount of fiber for, Lil’Critters might be just what you need. Read on to see if this might be the answer to bring up to their doctor on the next visit.

Read more

Great Tasting
When trying to get your kiddos to take something that they need, we know it becomes a monumental task. If your little one needs help with their digestive system, it can be even more so. Even the most willing little one to try anything will often turn something down if their belly hurts. These gummies make them feel like they are getting a treat and will help them feel better all in one. Be careful though, if your child is sensitive to Sucralose, Aspartame and or Stevia, you may not want to risk the sugar-free types of relief.

Great Brand!
We often mention how you have to trust the brand you buy, especially with edibles. Lil’Critters is a known and trusted brand for many types of vitamins, minerals and other healthful items for kids. Knowing that they are not only a name that’s been heard, but is often recommended even by physicians can make you feel even safer giving it to your kiddos.

Cost and Value
When it comes to a trusted brand, you can usually assume the value is very good. Lil’Critters offers enough supplements for 120 doses and with the gummy bear feel added in, you won’t have to fight with the little one to get them to take it. Top it off with the low price and you definitely have something worth considering. Just remember to check with their doctor first- both for allergy’s and to decide just home much and for how long they should take them. (Also keep them out of reach, gummies are awfully tempting!)

5. Kirkland Signature OPTIFIBER

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Kirkland Signature OPTIFIBER
Effectiveness
95
Potency
94
Use
93
Side Effects
92
Value
93
best offer for today
$24.39
Pros:

No artificial anything

Gluten-free

Sugar-free

200 servings per bottle

Dissolves in warm liquid

Cons:

May not dissolve as easily in colder liquids

If you are looking for something that is pure fiber and can be added without concern as to what else it has in it, this is the choice for you. Kirkland offers you a supplement to make sure you get all of what you need and none of what you don’t. Read more below to find out if this is the fiber option you have been looking for.

Read more

It’s About The Fiber
Not everyone wants or believes that when you take a supplement that it should taste good or have other things like capsules added in. With Kirkland you get fiber and that’s all. You can add it to warm food or drinks and it dissolves to become part of what is already your daily intake so there isn’t even the hassle of trying to figure out what to take it with. Just add it to what you already planned on having and you are good to go!

Serving It Up
With just one bottle you have 200 servings to cover more than the usual 2-month 2 serving a day amounts other capsulated brands offer. This means you can pay less in the long term while already paying less than most in the short term. When someone asks you what you have on your burger, don’t worry, just add Optifiber and have your daily dose on the go!

Cost and Value
For the amount, you get in the bottle, and the ease with which you can take it, this stuff already more than pays for yourself. Most brands only cover a two-month serving amount with taking it twice a day for the best effect, and some even less than that. If you take this twice aa day, you have well over a three-month supply, and it costs less than most brands to start! Not to mention that with those of us who have too many allergies to boot, unless we are allergic to fiber itself, there is no risk at this giving us any problems!

6. Metamucil Multi-Health

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Metamucil Multi-Health
Effectiveness
93
Potency
90
Use
91
Side Effects
93
Value
90
best offer for today
$25.44
Pros:

Helps maintain healthy blood sugar levels

Doctor recommended

Naturally and artificially flavored

Contains citrus

Company has 80 years of experience

Cons:

Aspartame

Another brand we know is trusted by many steps into the spotlight at number six! Not only is it a known brand, but this is the number one recommended by doctors, so if your doctor is talking that you should go with a fiber supplement, this one is likely to come up. Check below for more details so that you know why it might be the best choice for you.

Read more

Need Energy?
Metamucil is built to not only help you get the fiber you may need to aid with your digestive tract feeling better, but it also helps you to maintain your blood-sugar levels. This can be very important if you are diabetic and looking for an option to help you keep regular. Some fiber supplements can lower these levels by simply doing its intended job. Keep this in mind when discussing things with your doctor.

80 Years Strong
If you are not just looking for a company that has doctor say-so attached, but the experience to back it, this is where you would want to look. Metamucil has been around for 80 years helping people to get their health where they want and need it with that kind of know-how you can bet that this is going to be a good choice for many- maybe even you.

Cost and Value
Unlike other brands where you have to take it twice a day, or only at certain times, Metamucil is versatile, allowing you to decide when and where you want to take it. With 180 servings, it is up to you whether you take it twice a day for three months, or once a day and last double that. Talk with your doctor to see just how much you need and see for yourself why this choice may be the best bang for your buck, just remember to let your doctor know if you have any sensitivities to artificial sweeteners beforehand.

7. Metamucil Multi-Health

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Metamucil Multi-Health
Effectiveness
91
Potency
89
Use
88
Side Effects
90
Value
89
best offer for today
$21.24
Pros:

No artificial flavors or sweeteners

Low gluten count

Dissolves into liquid

Offered in various sizes and containers for on the go

100% natural

Cons:

Be wary of sellers

Some swear by the Benefiber brand over any other and will recommend it as something you should look into if you need a fiber supplement. If you are looking for something you can easily find and learn about, this may be a brand you would like- and if you have sensitivities to added sweeteners and flavors, you may want to look into this one.

Read more

Dissolve and Continue Your Day!
No matter what you eat or drink, unless it’s carbonated, Benefiber can be easily added to your diet without hassle. It dissolves easily into any liquid quickly and can even be added in while cooking or baking to give yourself the needed boost of fiber intake. This makes it easier to take than others because there is no change to your routine to add it in.

On-The-Go
If your someone who travels a little or a lot and you don’t want to have to lug around a large container, Benefiber offers you a variety of ways to keep it with you! If you are going on a short trip you can actually have singles packs instead of the oversized containers that most come in. Slip it into your pocket to add to your tea while you are out at lunch. Take it with you to the family bar-b-cue and add it to your sauce. Whatever you need to do, it can be taken along with and continue to give you its benefits without making you feel awkward at the table!

Cost and Value
This company went above and beyond the call of duty to help those of us who need that extra boost without having to be self-conscious about it and still get it in. You can truly personalize it to your needs, and you don’t have to worry about most allergies. Unlike many companies who might be ‘within the limits’ of calling themselves “gluten-free” Benefiber also showed the honesty of its company by admitting that though it can claim such, it still contains some minor amount of Gluten in it. That being said, there is no dollar amount that can truly be placed on a company willing to put its customer's health so far into the first priority that it loses a few.

8. Fiber Choice Prebiotic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Fiber Choice Prebiotic
Effectiveness
88
Potency
87
Use
92
Side Effects
91
Value
89
best offer for today
$36.26
Pros:

Different fruit flavors

Chewable tablets

Maintains balance in nutrients

Sugar-free and those with sugar both offered

Metabolism and energy plus versions

Calcium and vitamin D plus options

Offered in both chewable tabs and liquid forms

Cons:

The chewable may have a chalky texture

If you are looking for Inulin fiber types, the kind that comes from fruit and vegetables naturally, this is the supplement for you. While most fiber supplements are Psyllium based, this type of fiber has a different source which means it may work for you in ways the others didn’t. Consult your doctor to decide if this fiber choice might be a better option for you and see what Fiber Choice has below.

Read more

Different Body, Different Fiber
While some may find that the most common fiber works best in regulating them, others can bounce between several brands without finding any that work for one reason- they are all based off the same type of fiber. If Psyllium doesn’t work for you, then maybe Inulin will. Talk with your doctor about the different types of fiber and tell him which products you have already tried. You may be surprised to find that you really haven’t been doing anything different other than changing brands.

Variety
Don’t let the type we show you chase you away from the product brand! Fiber Choice actually has a variety of ways to take their type of fiber and their specific brand. If sugar-free is not something you can handle, there is a kind which uses normal sugar or fructose to sweeten the chewable and liquids for you. There are also three different types you can get to not just add fiber, but other things you may need as well. Look at all the available options and talk it over with your doctor to see which Fiber Choice may be best suited to help you the most!

Cost and Value
With all the options available, and the fact that Fiber Choice took a less traveled route of fiber type, the fact that it is also one of the less expensive brands is sure to increase the interest. Taking the fact that everyone is different and that not all bodies will work the same on a fiber supplement definitely made this creative company take to the sky as their limit. Wanting to help as many people as they could, they added value to their product quite easily in our eyes.

9. Garden of Life Prebiotic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Garden of Life Prebiotic
Effectiveness
85
Potency
87
Use
92
Side Effects
90
Value
88
best offer for today
$14.69
Pros:

Vegan-friendly

All fruit fiber supplement

Comes in both unflavored and citrus

Gluten-free

Dairy-free

Non-GMO

Kosher certified

Cons:

Sugar-free (flavored)

If you are looking for a fiber supplement that is assured to be vegan-friendly, then this might be your answer. This probiotic fiber supplement is made to be completely vegan oriented so nothing that goes into it will break your way of life. Read on below to see just what this product can do for you.

Read more

Vegan-Friendly
You might ask the same question we did when we first saw this statement, but with a little research, you can find that some fiber supplements do contain dairy and other non-vegan parts to them. While it is uncommon to see such in a product like a fiber supplement, if you want to know for sure that you are staying true to your life choices, having a product that can 100% assure you that you are is a great ease to the mind. Not only is it vegan-friendly, but it has fiber from several types of superfood fruits!

Take What You Want
Whether you need to have it tasty fruit or prefer it not to have any flavor beyond what you add it to, have it your way with this fiber supplement! With both options available, you know that you will find what you need as well as what you prefer in the same package- and vegan-friendly either way.

Cost and Value
When it comes to life choices and peace of mind, this particular supplement takes everyone into consideration. There are no conscience issues here and so you can benefit your health and not have to give up your life choices. Along with that, you get the fact that they have removed some major sensitivity issues by offering dairy and gluten-free products as well. Add in the fact it is GMO-free and it;’s price becomes a stunning cherry to the top!

10. Philips' Fiber Good Gummies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Philips' Fiber Good Gummies
Effectiveness
86
Potency
85
Use
89
Side Effects
90
Value
86
best offer for today
$12.37
Pros:

Comes in gummy and capsule forms

Naturally flavored

140 years of experience

Natural sweetener (fruit)

Has additional options added to Fiber

Cons:

Expensive

All grown up, but still, prefer the taste of a gummy to the often-bland powder or capsule? This could be a great way to take your fiber and not have to look for interesting ways to get the supplement in. Feel like a kid again while being a responsible adult with these yummy gummies!

Read more

Be A Kid Again!
Tired of every healthy choice meaning you have to deal with pills or powders? Want to be responsible while also enjoying the same benefits of being a kid? Look no further than Phillips Fiber for your needs. Gummies aren’t just for kids, we enjoy them as well. If you have to take fiber don’t suffer through it, have fun again!

Multiple Choices
Need something beyond Fiber? Some of us lose out on other things when we have to take fiber to aid our digestion. It can take a lot out of you if you are not careful. That’s why Phillips decided ‘why let the fun end with the plain fiber? You can get energy plus, vitamin D plus or even their calcium plus all in gummies so that you can get what you need and still enjoy it.

Cost and Value
With their versatility. the fact you can have fun, and the experience that goes into making this product- you definitely get your money’s worth. For short term use it’s also very inexpensive. Depending on what you are looking at as valuable, this may be the best and most quality option for you. Most that offer the same level of versatility cost several dollars more for a similar amount. Talk with your physician to see if you need to take these over a long-term and decide for yourself if the ability to enjoy what you need outweighs any discomfort from those that offer more quantity- or if you need smaller doses, this could still be just as much for even less.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

When looking over the products for this list we wanted to make sure that these were easy to understand the use. Each product had to clearly state what size of dosage and what was in it, and how it should be taken specifically to its type. This is important for taking any type of supplement or pill of any kind. Something that is not clear on its dosage amount can cause issues when trying to use it correctly. Since using this can affect your health, we wanted to be sure that you could easily take what was needed without getting too much or too little.

Value

Some supplements, vitamins and other sources of over the counter types of pills, powders, and liquids can seem to hold a lot and really overcharge for what it holds. We made sure that each one we gave as an option balanced out what it gave you with its price. This comes down to the type, the amount in the bottle, how it was produced and what other things may have been added to it. With all of this in mind, we feel these met or exceeded the cost in value to you as the one purchasing them

Effectiveness

Some of these products are pure fiber, which under the right use is beneficial by itself. However, there are a few that added other complimentary things to their products to give your body an extra boost in the areas it may need it most. By checking each kind, we found that the benefits of these brands offered the best results for their intended uses. Of course, if they offer more than fiber, we suggest, again, that you speak with a healthcare professional before taking it.

Application

Fiber supplements have great health benefits, but do you know what they do beyond aiding the digestive system? Fiber affects your cholesterol, heart and can fight inflammation! These are all good things and are well worth looking into. Before you do, though, make sure you are looking at the right kind of fiber for what you need or want. Yup, that’s right, there is more than one kind of fiber!

Most people think of the same thing when they think of fiber- it helps you to more easily get rid of waste from your body. By doing so it can also aid in weight loss but taking the wrong type of fiber can actually cause problems. While one kind of fiber helps you with getting rid of the bad things, the other can actually take away good things.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Application
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Take Precautions!

While most people may not have dangerous side effects from using fiber, they can occur. Taking too much can still lead to an overdose, and as with any laxative, can cause the body to lose needed nutrients. Please consult someone with medical knowledge before using any form of dietary supplement, especially those easily obtained. Read over all of the information we provide in this article, so you can make the best healthy choice you can when involving this supplement. Many of the effects are very beneficial, and we encourage looking into anything that might improve your life. On the same note, we also encourage safety and knowledge whenever it involves something you ingest for your health. Read over our criteria, additional information, FAQ’s and look into our sources to help you decide if this aide might benefit you. As always, we at Gearhunt wish you a happy and healthy day!

Always Take The Right Dosage!

Clearly stated dosages are a must with anything you take that isn’t directly a food. No matter whether it is a natural aide or a medicinal one, you want to know how much you are putting inside you so that you can provide the information if you need to be seen by a doctor. Another good reason is that, on talking to your health practitioner, you will likely be told what dosage of supplements is ok to take. Not knowing if what you have purchased will give you too much or too little in a single dose can cause health risks. For more information on this, continue to read on to our additional information, FAQ and source sections.

Other Factors to Consider

Brand

A recommendation is not needed to be a good brand, but many of the choices we have come with such. Healthcare professionals may prefer one type over another for specific uses and by having such a recommendation we know that the supplied benefits are worth a look into. If they don’t have this particular backing, it doesn’t mean they aren’t worth considering, and some on our list may not have this, but it is a definite plus in our book when they do.

Side Effects

Soluble type is the most common type of fiber and is usually what you are getting in a product like the ones we listed. It feeds the good bacteria in your digestive tract, which allows your digestive system to work better and more efficiently. This speeds up the digestion process, but, if you aren’t careful can lead to losing needed benefits from the food you eat. So, while some may think of this as a great way to lose weight, it can actually harm you and take away what your body needs to keep it healthy if not used properly.

Another type is Viscous fiber. This fiber can reduce your appetite while still providing the needed energy to get the nutrients from the food you eat. Instead of speeding up the process, it slows the digestive process down when it hits the stomach, making you feel fuller after smaller meals as it forces your tummy to process more out of each bite. This can help with reducing belly fat, but again you have to be careful. By using this method for weight loss, you can actually cause damage to your stomach if it isn’t a necessary thing.

The best way, studies have found, to lose weight through the fiber is not actually through the supplements, but by adding the plants that have the right kind of fibers to your diet. Supplements are truly only meant as a way to boost the digestive tract in those that have health issues that require such.

Bottom Line

These products are great when used correctly and aren’t being taken on a whim, and for those of us who need a boost, this is a great natural type of product that we can utilize to help steer our bodies in the right direction. They can help lower our blood pressure even so that we don’t risk health problems that can often be life-threatening on their own.

Some fiber supplements also add in extra things, such as vitamins, so that the added boost also aids in keeping our bodies from losing too much of other nutrients while we try to give ourselves the needed restoration to our digestive system.

There are good sides and bad sides to anything we can take for health. As stated many times in this article, you should always seek professional advice before choosing to take any type of product that affects your body, and especially ones that cause your body to physically work differently than it does or helps with any sort of pain. If you think you know someone who might be misusing a supplement or are unsure yourself if you are taking it appropriately, you can consult a doctor or a pharmacist. If the problem persists don’t be afraid to speak up and look for help.

We here at Gearhunt prefer to give you the best we can to aid in a healthy lifestyle and give you all the information we can to make your life easier. If you need more information on what Fiber Supplements can do, or simply want to know what to talk about with your doctor, we have provided our sources below and you can check our FAQ for additional questions we thought might help you to make the best decisions you can.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: This is over-the-counter, so I can buy it without a prescription and don’t have to talk to a doctor first, right?
a:

Yes, but no matter where we looked, it is highly recommended that you do before taking any kind of dietary supplement. They can affect other prescriptions as well as cause health problems.

q: If it’s bad to take without medical advice, why is it over-the-counter?
a:

Fiber is not the only thing that it is best to ask before taking. In truth, there is nothing over-the-counter that it’s a great idea to take without consulting a doctor first. Most things are clear and tested so that the recommended dose can easily be taken based on weight and age. Some things only require a little bit of knowledge and are not exceptionally dangerous even when used incorrectly but knowing what you should do for you is best. Since fiber can be used to help with weight, it can be difficult to decipher when it is being used right. For more information, check our sources below.

q: What fiber should I take?
a:

Good question! There are three types on the market, and each plays a specific role and takes its own form, whether it’s pill, powder or liquid. The best way to find out what is right for you is to consider which kind might be the easiest on your body and that won’t interfere with other things you may be taking. The best way, as we have stated, probably sounding like a broken robot by now, is to ask your doctor first.

Sources

  1. Unknown, Questions To Ask Before Taking Vitamin and Mineral Supplements, Nutrition Webstie, Mar 21, 2019
  2. Joe Leech, MS, Fiber Can Help You Lose Weight — But Only A Specific Type, Health Website, Mar 21, 2019
  3. Yvette C. Terrie, BSPharm, RPh, Fiber Supplements: Health Benefits & Side Effects, Health Info. Website, Mar 21, 2019