to top 10 table

Best Cervical Pillows Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Jun 24, 2019

If you’ve ever woken up with an achy neck or back, or you suffer from chronic neck and shoulder pain, chances are you are sleeping with the wrong kind of pillow. Not only does this interrupt healthy sleep patterns, but it can also be damaging to the body over time.

So what to do? It’s possible that switching to a cervical pillow can help. There are 7 bones in the neck all padded by cervical disks that make up the cervical spine. The natural shape of this area of the spine has a gentle curve. Sleeping on the wrong pillow can throw this curve out of wack and that’s what results in neck pain in the morning.

So for those of you who wake up stiff and achy in the morning, we’ve compiled this list of the best cervical pillows for neck pain. Get ready for a better night’s sleep.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
EPABO Contour Memory Foam
99.8/100 our score
Adjustability
99
Support
100
Materials
100
Comfort
100
Value
100
EPABO Contour Memory Foam
Why is it better?

Can adjust the height

Cooling bamboo fiber memory foam

Unique molded design for support

Comes in multiple size options

Great for all sleeping styles

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
EPABO Contour Memory Foam
Test Winner: EPABO Contour Memory Foam
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
21
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
3600
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Adjustability Support Materials Comfort Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
Adjustability
99 %
Support
100 %
Materials
100 %
Comfort
100 %
Value
100 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
$45.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.2
Adjustability
99 %
Support
99 %
Materials
100 %
Comfort
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
$39.97
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Adjustability
100 %
Support
98 %
Materials
97 %
Comfort
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Adjustability
95 %
Support
97 %
Materials
98 %
Comfort
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
$47.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Adjustability
90 %
Support
95 %
Materials
95 %
Comfort
98 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Adjustability
97 %
Support
92 %
Materials
90 %
Comfort
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Adjustability
90 %
Support
92 %
Materials
95 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
$43.29
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Adjustability
90 %
Support
90 %
Materials
93 %
Comfort
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Adjustability
88 %
Support
88 %
Materials
88 %
Comfort
90 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
$17.32
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Adjustability
90 %
Support
90 %
Materials
94 %
Comfort
86 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (02.06.20)
Amazon Link
$141.61

10 Best Cervical Pillows

1. EPABO Contour Memory Foam

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.8
EPABO Contour Memory Foam
Amazon Link
Adjustability
99
Support
100
Materials
100
Comfort
100
Value
100
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.99
Pros:

Can adjust the height

Cooling bamboo fiber memory foam

Unique molded design for support

Comes in multiple size options

Great for all sleeping styles

Cons:

Too firm for some users

The EPABO Contour Memory Foam Pillow is the best pillow for neck pain and price on the market today. This product features a unique design that expertly cradles the head and neck to give it the support it needs for a pain-free, good night’s sleep. Add to it its cooling properties and you’ll be sure to be pushing Zs in no time.

Uniquely Designed for Alignment
The EPABO Contour Memory Foam Pillow has a unique design that helps to provide premium support to the head, neck, and spine. The product has more foam density at the bottom to fill the space between the bed and your neck while still giving the head support. Plus, the product also has a molded-in resting position for your head and neck to provide an even snugger fit.

While many products on the market are only designed for specific sleeping styles (for example: just side sleepers or just stomach sleepers), this option from EPABO is suitable for all sleeping types. So whether you like to curl up on your side or you lay flat on your back, this product will help to deliver excellent sleep.

What’s more, this product comes in multiple sizes so you can get the one that fits your exact needs. Choose between the standard sized pillow and two queen-sized pillows (one 4.6 inches thick and the other 4.8 inches thick).

It is worth noting that this product can seem a little firm at first. In fact, it may even cause a little discomfort for the first couple of nights that you use it as your body begins to adjust to the new and improved alignment. This is totally normal, so stick with it for a few weeks before you make your final decision.

Cooling Fabric For Sweat-Free Sleep
The EPABO Contour Memory Foam Pillow features a cooling bamboo fiber memory foam that will help keep your face and neck dry from sweat for even more added comfort. It is designed to let air circulate through to keep the product from overheating. Plus, it comes with a rayon and polyester cover that also works to keep your face cool and cozy throughout the night.

Not only does this product have more foam than others at its price point, but it is also chemical free and adjustable. If you flip the product over, you’ll find a zipper that opens up to reveal the memory foam padding inside. You can remove the middle plank of memory foam to lessen the width of the pillow by about .8 inches.
And on top of that, this product is hypoallergenic and dust mite and mold resistant. You can also easily machine wash the pillow cover. Make sure to tumble dry so the cover doesn’t shrink. And never ever wash the memory foam portion of the product.

Cost and Value
The EPABO Contour Memory Foam Pillow rings up in the low middle of our price range and we love its value because it boasts one super unique design which makes it the best pillow for neck problems. It’s also adjustable, cooling, and hypoallergenic, and with more memory foam than others at this price.

Plus, you can try this product for 30 days before you make your final call and return it for a full refund if you’re not totally satisfied.

2. UTTU Sandwich

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99.2
UTTU Sandwich
Amazon Link
Adjustability
99
Support
99
Materials
100
Comfort
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.97
Pros:

Tons of different height options

Great for all sleeping styles

Machine washable bamboo case

No harmful materials included

Certified by ISPA, OEKO-TEX, and CertiPUR-US

Cons:

Can run a little warm

The UTTU Sandwich Pillow is another wonderful option to make our list. It offers up a couple of different heights and densities in the same pillow so you can adjust to fit your exact spinal needs. And it works to help relieve achy muscles and to get your spine in its correct alignment.

Adjustable Heights
The UTTU Sandwich Pillow features more fit options than almost any other product on our list. With a high side and a low side, you’ll be able to get the fit that is just right for you. The high contour side is 4.7 inches high, while the low contour side is 3.9 inches high. These sides are separated by a dip which is designed to cradle your head.

But if neither of these heights sounds right for you (or you try them both and you are still experiencing discomfort after 2 or 3 weeks), you can remove the inner plank of foam to get an even more customized fit. When the foam layer is removed, the high contour side measures 3.5 inches high while the low contour side measures 2.8 inches high.

All of these fit options work together to create a pillow that is designed for literally every type of sleeper. So if you get your best sleep on your tummy or you are only comfortable when you’re on your side, this pillow has you covered.

Plus, with the different height options, this is a great choice for taking with you on the road as you can adjust the sleeping side to give you support even on an air mattress.

Made from Premium Foam
The UTTU Sandwich Pillow is made from premium cooling foam that provides incredible support to relieve stiffness and pain while keeping your comfortably cool all night long. This foam is dynamic and works to maintain the same density, no matter the weather. Where some memory foam pillows will get rock hard on cold nights, this product will remain soft and comfortable.

The UTTU Sandwich comes with a bamboo and polyester cover that is hypoallergenic and resistant to mold and dust mites. The cover can be removed and washed in the washing machine when it starts to get less than fresh. Remember you should never put the foam part of your pillow in the washing machine.

This product has certifications from ISPA, OEKO-TEX, and CertiPUR-US to be free from known toxins like lead, mercury, other heavy metals, and formaldehyde. Plus, these companies rate this product highly for its durability and support standards.

Cost and Value
The UTTU Sandwich rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it features tons of different height options that make it great for most bodies and all types of sleepers. Plus, the product comes with a 3-month sleep trial and a 5-year warranty so you’ll have plenty of time to try your product and ensure you are satisfied.

3. Nature's Guest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Nature's Guest
Amazon Link
Adjustability
100
Support
98
Materials
97
Comfort
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Fully adjustable filling

Patented cervical design that really works

Premium hypoallergenic case made from cotton

Great for back and side sleepers

Fluffier than memory foam options

Cons:

No inner casing to hold to filling

The Nature's Guest Support Pillow comes recommended by orthopedists and chiropractors alike. It is a bit softer than other memory foam options on our list and can be adjusted more exactly to fit your body’s unique needs. So if you prefer a fluffier hotel style product, this could be just the one for you.

Removeable Micro-Fiber Filling
The Nature's Guest Support is made from a special micro-fiber filling that is at the same time soft and supportive. It is designed to keep you cool and comfortable throughout the night.

While many of the memory foam pillows on our list can be adjusted, most only allow you to remove a plank of foam. With this option, you can remove as much filling as you would like in different areas of the pillow to get a fit that is uniquely you. At its maximum capacity, the product is 5 inches thick.

We remind you to always keep the filling that you have removed from your product in case you need to add more filling back later as the filling will naturally lose some of its density over time.

Patent Pending Cervical Design
The Nature's Guest Support Pillow has a patent pending cervical design that really works. This is a large pillow (24 inches long and 16 inches wide) that is sewn and tapered at 3 points in the middle to provide a perfect cradle for your head. This specialized dip ensures that your cervical spine stays aligned and that your neck isn’t tilted too far up or down.

The design of the pillow helps to ensure that filling doesn’t bunch too much in one part of the pillow and it also makes this a great option for sleepers who alternate between sleeping on their backs and sleeping on their sides. We love this pillow because it allows you to switch positions without having to fuss with and adjust your pillow during the night.

This product features a cotton cover of premium quality that will keep you cool throughout the evening. It is hypoallergenic and can be machine washed. That being said, there is no internal casing that holds in the filling, so if you would like to wash the case, you’ll have to remove all of the filling to do so. You cannot wash this product with the filling in it.

Cost and Value
The Nature's Guest Support Pillow rings up in the high middle of our price range and we love its value because it offers up a fluffier option for those who aren’t crazy about memory foam while still being super supportive and effective. Plus, it’s fully adjustable so you can get the perfect sleeping fit for you, and if you’re not satisfied after 30 nights of sleep, they will provide you with a full refund.

4. MARNUR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
MARNUR
Amazon Link
Adjustability
95
Support
97
Materials
98
Comfort
97
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.99
Pros:

Molded cutouts for different sleepers

Breathable memory foam and cover

Memory foam rebounds slowly

Easily machine wash cover

2 different heights on opposite pillow sides

Cons:

May soften up too much

The MARNUR Cervical Pillow may seem a little bizarre at first, but its shape is backed by science and works to alleviate neck, back, and shoulder pain for every kind of sleeper out there. With different heights on either end, you will be able to find your sweet spot on this product and get a restorative night’s sleep.

Optimally Designed for All Sleeping Styles
This option from MARNUR is sort of funky looking but every angle has a purpose. Designed to satisfy the sleep needs of side sleepers, back sleepers, and stomach sleepers, this product has it all.

Each side of the pillow features different heights of foam. One side measures 135mm high while the other side measures 85mm high. So no matter what kind of sleeper you are, you can flip the pillow to the side that best meets your neck’s needs.

Not only does this product have specialized molds to accommodate your neck and head, but it also features armrests for each type of sleeper. Comfortably wrap the pillow in your arms without having to wrap them under if you are a stomach sleeper, and enjoy a rest for your shoulder and arm if you are a side sleeper.

Made from Memory Foam that Rebounds
This option from MARNUR is made from memory foam that rebounds slowly. That means the foam holds its shape better than other memory foam options, and that you’ll enjoy longer lasting comfort. This foam is also cooling and works to make sure you’re not kept up all night sweating.

The cover is made from breathable polyester and rayon and can be thrown in the washing machine when it is needed. The pillow itself cannot be put in the washing machine as this will compromise the foam with which it is comprised.

Cost and Value
This option from MARNUR rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it offers unique cutout moldings that accommodate the specific arm, shoulder, neck, and head positionings of every type of sleeper to provide the most optimal support and peaceful night’s rest.

5. DMI L Shaped

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
DMI L Shaped
Amazon Link
Adjustability
90
Support
95
Materials
95
Comfort
98
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Unique L shape for support

Hypoallergenic product

Cotton cover is machine washable

Great for side and stomach sleepers

Wrap your arms around for comfort

Cons:

Some found to be overfilled

The DMI L Shaped Contour is shaped differently than any other product on our list. Its unique L shaped design allows for a snug and cozy fit that provides ample support to sensitive areas of the neck and back. Plus, if you’re one that likes to hug your pillow at night, this is just the product for you.

Unique L Shape
The DMI L Shaped Contour has, as the name would suggest, a unique L shape. This provides support to the cervical spine as it wraps cozily around you to make you feel snug. While it gives you the lift that your neck needs to remain in line, it provides the perfect cut off so that your shoulders can rest nicely on the bed further helping with alignment.

This product is ideal for all varieties of sleepers, but especially those who sleep on their sides and stomachs. If you’re a side sleeper who likes to hug your pillow at night, this product has your name written all over it. Plus, because of its design, this is a great buy for women who are pregnant as well.

Hypoallergenic
The DMI L Shaped Contour is filled with fibers that are breathable and that are naturally hypoallergenic. The fibers mold to your body position giving you a fit that is catered just to you. The poly-cotton cover is hypoallergenic as well and super easy to wash. We advise against washing the whole pillow.

Cost and Value
The DMI L Shaped Contour rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we love its value because it is a unique take on the contour pillow that provides support at a fraction of the cost while also giving you a little buddy to wrap your arms around for extra comfort.

6. Mugetu Gel Infused

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Mugetu Gel Infused
Amazon Link
Adjustability
97
Support
92
Materials
90
Comfort
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Cooling gel-infused foam

Case is washable and comes in 2 colors

4 different height options

Molds to your body

Cons:

Softer than expected

The Mugetu Gel Infused Memory Foam is another super adjustable option that caters to your specific needs and ensures that each person gets the just-right fit that their neck and spine are looking for.

4 Height Options
The Mugetu Gel Infused Memory Foam offers up 4 different height options so that you can get the correct fit for your body and your bed. The just right fit can be a bit hard to determine before you actually make your purchase and try them out, so this is a great option for that trial and error process.

The Mugetu is higher on one end of the pillow than it is on the other. The higher end measures 4.7 inches high and the lower end measures 3.9 inches high. When you remove the inner plank of foam, the higher end measures 3.5 inches high and the lower end measures 2.9 inches high.

Foam Infused with Gel
The Mugetu Gel Infused Memory Foam is infused with gel to provide even more cooling action and to urge the fibers to mold to your every nook and cranny. As the product regulates your temperature, it also works to ebb and flow with your movements throughout the night ensuring that you can remain comfortably asleep.

This product comes in gray and black, and the case can be removed and washed easily in the machine.

Cost and Value
The Mugetu Gel Infused Memory Foam rings up in the low middle of our price range and we love its value because it features 4 different heights and a cooling gel--premium features at a lower cost. Plus, you get 30 days to decide on your purchase.

7. YANXUAN

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
YANXUAN
Amazon Link
Adjustability
90
Support
92
Materials
95
Comfort
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$43.29
Pros:

Molds and contours for all sleepers

Safe, non-toxic materials

Case is machine washable

Medium density support

Cons:

Way too firm for some

The YANXUAN Contour Memory Foam is another specially molded option to bring you a peaceful night’s rest. It is designed to suit all types of sleepers and is totally free from toxins that other competitors include in their products.

No Harmful Materials
The YANXUAN Contour Memory Foam is made from a medium support memory foam that will provide comfort and resistance to give your body the alignment that it needs. It is certified by OEKO-TEX and the ISPA to contain no harmful materials like heavy metals or formaldehyde which is great for a product that your face is going to be on night after night.

Molds for All Sleepers
The YANXUAN Contour Memory Foam has molded-in cut-outs to suit all sleeping types. It works with your body to align your spine throughout the night--even if you change positions while you sleep. You can remove the cover and machine wash it when need be.

Cost and Value
The YANXUAN Contour Memory Foam rings up towards the bottom of our price range and we love its value because it comes with a 12-month warranty and a 30-day sleep trial to ensure that you are totally satisfied with your purchase.

8. Wonwo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Wonwo
Amazon Link
Adjustability
90
Support
90
Materials
93
Comfort
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Molded for all sleeping types

CertiPUR-US dynamic foam

Free from harmful materials

Stays soft in cold weather

Lifetime warranty

Cons:

Foam rebounds too quickly

The Wonwo Memory Foam is another dynamic memory foam that will remain comfortable and pliable no matter what the weather. Use this for support, even in cold weather.

CertiPUR-US Foam
The Wonwo Memory Foam is made from high-density, dynamic, CertiPUR-US memory foam. This foam is specialized and rebounds slowly while molding nicely to your shape and form. Its dynamic compound allows it to remain soft even in cold weather.

This is a product free from all added toxins and known irritants during manufacturing.

Great for All Sleepers
The Wonwo Memory Foam has a shape that is designed to suit all sleeping types. It is specially molded to fit the contours of your body no matter which way you use it.

Cost and Value
The Wonwo Memory Foam rings up in the middle of our price range and we love its value because it is a researched and safe product, and because it comes with a lifetime warranty.

9. Roscoe

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Roscoe
Amazon Link
Adjustability
88
Support
88
Materials
88
Comfort
90
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.32
Pros:

Great budget option

Cotton cover offers cooling properties

Rebounding foam offers support

Recessed head cradle

Works to align posture

Cons:

Divot too deep in middle

The Roscoe Cervical Pillow is another with a tapered middle to give your head the cradle that it needs to align your spine.

Tapered Head Cradle
The Roscoe Cervical Pillow is tapered and sewn in the middle to give your head the perfect cradle. With ample padding in the neck, your spine will achieve alignment and you a more refreshing night’s sleep. If you can’t seem to get into the right postural position while you sleep, this product can help you get there.

Resilient Fiber Inners
The Roscoe Cervical Pillow is comprised of resilient fibers that will provide support while also offering up a whole lot of comfort. These fibers spring back and won’t stay compressed down like other products on the market. The cotton blended cover adds to the product's comfort and helps with the breathability of the pillow.

Cost and Value
The Roscoe Cervical Pillow rings up at the very bottom of our price range and we like its value because it offers features we’ve seen in other products at about half of the price.

10. Tempur-Pedic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Tempur-Pedic
Amazon Link
Adjustability
90
Support
90
Materials
94
Comfort
86
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$141.61
Pros:

Made from high-tech foam

Machine washable cover

5-year warranty

2 different height options

Firm support

Cons:

Way more expensive than other options

The Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Neck is one of the most recognizable brands on our list. It offers up well-researched support with materials formulated by NASA so you can count on their effectiveness.

Foam Formulated by NASA
The Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Neck is comprised of foam that was formulated by NASA and is assembled in the United States. It is a firm product that may seem a bit uncomfortable at first, but that will relieve aches and pains by adjusting your posture back to its natural form.

2 Levels to Choose From
The Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Neck is contoured to give you two different height options to choose from. You cannot adjust the level of the height of this product. You can remove the velvety cover and machine wash it.

Cost and Value
The Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Neck rings up at the very top of our price range and we like its value because it is a well-researched option with super high-quality materials and a 5-year warranty.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Adjustability

Because we are all different shapes and sizes, adjustability was a major consideration of ours when making this list. We love products that are (for one) adjustable and (for two) easy to adjust.

Our favorite products in this category are those with planks of foam that are easy to remove--especially those with differing heights on either end of the pillow. This allows for simple adjustments that help you on your way to finding the height that is just right for you.

We also love products with filling that can be removed. While the filling is a bit more cumbersome to deal with, it does allow a lot more control over the height of the product so you can get an even more tailored fit for your body.

Support

Support is the name of this game. We highlight products that provide the right amount of support in the right areas.

For cervical pillows, we are looking for products that appropriately fill in the space between the neck and the bed, as well as those that provide a cradle for the head for extended alignment. We love products that offer different heights to suit different body types.

We also looked for products that provide support to different types of sleepers. Products with different molds for different sleeping types score highly on this list.

Materials

Adjustability, support, comfort, and breathability all extend from the materials that each product is made out of. Because this is a product your face will be sleeping on every night, you want to be sure that it is not only supportive but also safe.

We look to highlight products with smart foams and fillings that are breathable and designed to mold to the shape of your body. Premium foams and fillings mold without collapsing and without being too firm. This gives you the best support to comfort ratio possible.

We also look for cotton, bamboo, rayon, and polyester covers that are velvety to the touch and that fight off night sweats.

Above all, we highlight the brands that manufacture products that are free from known toxins and contaminants so that you can feel safe about the products that you choose.

Comfort

While support is the main goal of these products, they are also meant to be comfortable. We love options that are at the same time supportive and soft, giving your neck and head the cradles they need for alignment and peaceful sleep.

Value

We are always trying to give you the best bang for your (sleeping) buck. Most of the products on this list are super affordable--especially when you consider that they are being used on a daily basis to provide pain relief.

We love that these are a resource we can turn to eliminate (or ease) pain and discomfort, rather than having to turn to medications.

Plus, most of these products come with warranties and sleep trials that allow you to try the pillow before you fully commit to your purchase.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Shoulder Width and Bed Softness are Key

When thinking about the height that you need in a cervical pillow to get the support you need, you are going to want to take your shoulder width and bed softness into consideration above almost everything else.
To get the correct fit, the product that you select needs just to fill the space between your neck and the bed and your head and the bed. The distance of your neck and head from the bed depends on 2 things.
The wider your shoulders are, the farther your neck and head will be from the bed.
Additionally, the firmer your mattress, the farther your neck and head will be from the bed. If you have a firm memory foam mattress, you are going to need more height in your pillow. If you have a soft down mattress pad that you tend to sink into, you are going to need less height in your pillow.
If you have a firm mattress, you can just think about the width of your shoulders, but if you have a soft mattress, you’ll need to take your sink into considering.

Try for a Few Weeks

Often times before seeking out a cervical pillow, folks will have been living with discomfort and improper support for quite some time. As we mentioned before, these effects can be somewhat long-lasting. Thus, it’s important that you give your purchase a few weeks before you make a final decision.
It will take time for the neck and spine to adjust to proper alignment. And it’s also likely that your new purchase will be a bit firmer than the previous item you were sleeping on. So a little discomfort at first is expected. But don’t let this scare you away.
As most of the products on our list offer at least 30-day sleep trials, you can experiment with your purchase for a good bit of time before having to choose whether your purchase is right for you or not.

Other Factors to Consider

Breathability

When we considered each product’s breathability, we look at the foam that each product is comprised of. Products with specially designed foams and fibers for breathability rank highly on our list. These fibers allow consistent airflow to ensure that you don’t end up with a steaming hot pillow that will interrupt your sleep.

We also looked at the cover. Covers made from rayon, bamboo, and polyester offer up a soft, breathable face that will keep sweat from forming and pooling during the night.

Features

When we talk features here, we are thinking about the little bonuses that make each product special.

Products with outside and inside cases that make washing easy score highly. As do products with extra molded cutouts for hugging and contouring. And as mentioned before, we love products that have different heights to accommodate the difference in our bodies.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can I put my pillow in the washing machine?

a:

You can put the pillowcases in the washing machine, but you should not put the actual pillow in the washing machine. This will compromise the fibers and cause them to lose their supportive properties.

q: Do these actually relieve neck, shoulder, and back pain?

a:

If you get the right pillow for you, yes. Now, as we mentioned before in our expert tips, that can be a challenge. We suggest consulting your doctor for advice (if you have one). If not, go with one of the contour pillows that offer 4 or more height variations. This will allow you to get the just right fit you need to align your spine and experience relief.

q: How can I store the foam or filling I removed?

a:

It is best to store excess filling and foam in a cool, dry place. While most of these products are hypoallergenic and resistant to mites and mold--if you keep them in a warm, damp place, they will likely develop mold. Placing them in an airtight bag with a bit of rice is a great way to keep moisture, mites, and mold out until you need them again.

Sources

  1. Chris Iliades, MD, Using a Neck Pillow to Reduce Neck Pain, Article
  2. Nicole Sforza, Do Specialty Pillows Really Work?, Article
  3. Sleep Dot Org Contributing Writers, What are Chiropractic Pillows and Do You Need One?, Article