to top 10 table

Best Bowling Shoes Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated: Feb 23, 2019

There is a multitude of reasons why you should invest in your own pair of bowling shoes. For one, who wants to put their feet into a pair of rental shoes that have been worn by stinky feet for half a century? Not you? Me either! Two, it is mandatory to wear bowling shoes if you plan on going bowling, so why not invest in a great pair that can showcase your personal style and improve your score as well! Bowling shoes are worn to one, protect the lanes from dirt, dust, grime and other debris that can ruin the shiny, slidey finish. And for two, to help you perfect that coveted slide that we see professional bowlers throwing out on TV! Here are our top picks for the perfect bowling shoes!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 301 hrs of research

icon
KR Mens Flyer
99/100 our score
Comfort
99
Outsole
99
Materials
99
Style
99
Support
99
KR Mens Flyer
Why is it better?

Comfortable man-made uppers

Flexslide technology with #8 microfiber pads

Can be worn by left or right handed

Fully lined for comfort

Laces for support and fit

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
KR Mens Flyer
Test Winner: KR Mens Flyer
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
15
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
19
Researched Sources
Total Readers
14k
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
15k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
301
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Comfort Outsole Materials Style Support By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Comfort
99 %
Outsole
99 %
Materials
99 %
Style
99 %
Support
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
$40.47
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Comfort
98 %
Outsole
97 %
Materials
98 %
Style
99 %
Support
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Comfort
97 %
Outsole
97 %
Materials
96 %
Style
95 %
Support
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
$41.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Comfort
95 %
Outsole
96 %
Materials
96 %
Style
96 %
Support
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Comfort
95 %
Outsole
96 %
Materials
94 %
Style
94 %
Support
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Comfort
92 %
Outsole
93 %
Materials
94 %
Style
93 %
Support
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Comfort
90 %
Outsole
93 %
Materials
94 %
Style
91 %
Support
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
$38.45
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Comfort
90 %
Outsole
90 %
Materials
91 %
Style
90 %
Support
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Comfort
89 %
Outsole
90 %
Materials
90 %
Style
88 %
Support
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
$39.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Comfort
87 %
Outsole
86 %
Materials
87 %
Style
86 %
Support
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.07.20)
Amazon Link
$45.60

Top 10 Picks

1. KR Mens Flyer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
KR Mens Flyer
Amazon Link
Comfort
99
Outsole
99
Materials
99
Style
99
Support
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$40.47
Pros:

Comfortable man-made uppers

Flexslide technology with #8 microfiber pads

Can be worn by left or right handed

Fully lined for comfort

Laces for support and fit

Cons:

Doesn't come in white

These are a sure winner in the bowling shoe department! They check all the boxes on our list for comfort, affordability, style, and fit. Are you looking for the perfect pair of bowling shoes to help bring your score up, or just don’t want to wear stinky rental shoes anymore? The KR Flyer is sure to be a great pick for you!

Komfort Fit Construction
Just like any pair of shoes, you want your bowling shoes to fit well and be comfortable. Nothing will ruin a good game of bowling faster than uncomfortable blisters or sores on your feet and toes. These shoes are fully lined in soft fabric for maximum comfort and minimizing the risk of friction on your feet. The uppers of these shoes are made from a soft and durable man-made material that will conform to your foot for hours of comfortable wear.

Flexslide Technology
Aside from protecting the lanes, the other reason to invest in a great pair of bowling shoes is to perfect your slide. These shoes have Flexslide technology, which will have you bowling strikes like a pro in no time! The #8 microfibre white pad is on the left and right shoe, so these can be worn by left or right-hand bowlers alike.

Cost and Value
These are the perfect combination of style and performance with a reasonable price to boot! There is the fully lined man made upper, that has a padded tongue and collar for additional comfort and support. The all black design won’t distract from your amazing bowling game, and there are slides on both feet, so these would be great for left or right handed bowlers. Reviewers raved about how well these fit and how easy they were to get through the initial break-in period. You really can’t go wrong investing in these KR Flyers!

2. Storm Gust

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Storm Gust
Amazon Link
Comfort
98
Outsole
97
Materials
98
Style
99
Support
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Look like a sneaker

Canvas uppers are lightweight

Goes well with outfits

Two color combos

For left or right handed bowlers

Cons:

Doesn't come in black

Second on our list, we have the Storm Gust shoe. With its classic good looks and canvas uppers, these look more like a pair of trendy skateboarding shoes than ones designed for bowling. You can perfect your slide and stay on-trend with this great pair of bowling shoes.

Look Like Sneakers
Reviewers have raved about how much they love the look of these bowling shoes. Not everyone wants to invest in a frumpy pair of all black shoes that look like more like they were made for geriatrics than a game of bowling. Who says you can’t look great while playing your favorite game at the same time. There are two color combinations offered on the Storm Gust shoe. One option is white with light grey accents, and the other is shades of grey with a blue logo.

For Left or Right Hand Bowlers
There are sliders on both the left and right shoe. This means that these shoes would be an appropriate choice for left or right handed bowlers. Reviewers stated that these shoes helped improve their game easily by at least 25 points (and those who didn’t improve said they felt great wearing these good looking shoes anyways!)

Cost and Value
There are so many features about these shoes that make them worth every penny. For one, they look great. Gone are the days where you have to spoil your great outfit with a pair of old fashioned looking bowling shoes. Two, they are super comfortable. The canvas uppers are breathable and lightweight and also fully fabric lined. The lining will reduce friction against your foot, preventing you from coming home with any blisters that would ruin your night. Rounding out our reasons why we love these shoes, is the universal sliders on both feet, so they can be worn by left or right handed bowlers a like!

3. BSI Men's Basic #521

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
BSI Men's Basic #521
Amazon Link
Comfort
97
Outsole
97
Materials
96
Style
95
Support
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.00
Pros:

All black design is sleek

For left or right handed bowlers

Real leather uppers

Won't break the bank

Cons:

Doesn't come in colors

Rounding out of top three picks are these #521 bowling shoes made by the BSI company. BSI stands for Bowlers Superior Inventory and we think you will agree that these shoes certainly meet the criteria of being superior!

Leather Uppers
We love that the uppers of these shoes are made from real leather, not synthetics like some other options. Real leather is a premium product when it comes to shoes for a number of reasons. For one, it will break in and conform to your individual foot shape, so wearing your bowling shoes will be as comfy as throwing on your favorite pair of slippers. Two, leather is durable and hardy. With a little care and maintenance, your bowling shoes will last a lifetime!

Microfiber Sliding Sole
These shoes have microfibre slides on both feet. They are the perfect pick for left and right handed bowlers alike!

Cost and Value
These shoes offer a ton of value, at a great budget-friendly price! Unless you’re a pro bowler and spend every afternoon at the lanes, it wouldn’t make sense for you to invest a fortune in a pair of specialty shoes you can only wear for a specific activity (bowling of course). For that reason, we love the #521 shoe! Great for left or right handed bowlers, these shoes also offer a ton of comfort. All leather uppers are long lasting and break in better than some synthetic options on the market! You really can’t wrong if you want a decently priced pair of good looking, high-quality shoes to strut around the bowling alley in!

4. Brunswick Edge Men's

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Brunswick Edge Men's
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Outsole
96
Materials
96
Style
96
Support
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

All black or white simple design

Budget Friendly

Laces for support and custom fit

Slider pads on both feet

Cons:

Not made from leather

Here we see another great priced competitor in the bowling shoe market! These are great for those who wish to become more consistent with their bowling game, or perhaps improve their score by a few points. Classic, monotone looks won’t distract anyone from all the strikes and turkeys you keep getting!

Budget Friendly
We are all for investing in a great pair of footwear. However, when it comes to bowling shoes we suggest you weigh up how often you will be wearing them before you decide on your budget. The Brunswick Edge shoes have such a great price point you could use the money you save to buy a new bowling ball, a bowling bag or even treat the members of your bowling league to a round at the bar! Now that is something that everyone will thank you for!

Monotone Design
The Brunswick Edge is available in all black or all white! The all black design have a small red logo, and a red detail around one of the lace holes. Alternatively, the white pair has a royal blue logo and lace hole accent. For people who like their bowling game to be the star of the show and not their footwear, these classic understated shoes will be the perfect pick!

Cost and Value
Aside from the great price that we already talked about, these shoes also have a ton of features that add a lot of value to the product. Both shoes have microfibre slide pads, so they are acceptable for left or right handed bowlers. The soles are non-marking, so no bowling lanes will be damaged! On top of all this, all Brunswick bowling shoes use Komfort-Fit construction to ensure a quality, comfortable fit. The man-made uppers are soft and pliable, and fully lined inside to prevent friction that causes blisters. Bonus points for the padded tongue which adds even more comfort to this product.

5. Elite Atlas Men’s

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
 Elite Atlas Men’s
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Outsole
96
Materials
94
Style
94
Support
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

All white design

Uni-slide soles

Impressive two-year warranty

Durable, longlasting construction

Cons:

Doesn't come in black

Maybe plain for some tastes

This unassuming, all-black pair of bowling shoes won’t get you noticed when you walk into the alley. What will get you noticed, however, is all the strikes and spares you start throwing once you have these shoes strapped on your feet.

Uni-Slide Sole
The Atlas bowling shoes have microfibre sliders on both feet. This is great because it means the shoes can be worn by either left or right handed bowlers. The purpose of the sliders is to allow for a smooth approach to the lane. This will set you up correctly, with your slide leg balanced underneath your body, for delivering maximum power and accuracy in your throws!

Two-Year Warranty
The Elite company is so confident that you will love this pair of bowling shoes, they offer a two year warranty on everything they make! This goes above and beyond the industry standard when it comes to warranties, and really makes you feel confident that you are purchasing a high-quality, well made pair of shoes that will last practically a lifetime.

Cost and Value
Are you looking for a smart looking, supportive pair of shoes to take your bowling game to the next level? The Atlas offers up all the comfort you want to see in your favorite pair of shoes. They use only high-quality materials in the construction of their products, and these shoes are suitable for left or right handed bowlers. We give a ton of bonus points for the two-year manufacturers warranty that comes standard on all Elite Bowling Products!

6. Storm Womens Skye

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
 Storm Womens Skye
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Outsole
93
Materials
94
Style
93
Support
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Cool saddleshoe design

Bright color combo

For left or right-hand bowlers

S8 microfiber slides

Quirky and fun retro vibe

Cons:

Maybe too flashy for some styles

WOW! These funky, fun shoes are far from boring and basic. Your superior armswing and follow through won’t be the only thing people at the bowling alley are talking about when you strut up with the Skye bowling shoes on your feet!

Bright, Retro Design
How fun are these shoes?! We all love the chance to be creative and express our personal style, and why shouldn’t we be able to? Life is too short to not have a little fun! We love the sporty design, and the sharp contrast of colors used! A white background is perfectly paired with a striking hot pink and lavender stripe design. To tie it all together, there are black accents on, the heel, collar and sole of these shoes! Talk about an eye-catching combination!

Non-Marking Outsole
We all want to look great while playing our favorite game of bowling. But we also want to be responsible and respectful bowlers, and treat the lanes and alley with care! A lot of time and effort goes into maintaining the pristine condition of the maple lanes, and we can all do our part to help the house keep them in tiptop shape! (PS- ‘the house’ in bowling lingo means the building or establishment where you play). The outer soles of these shoes are non-marking, so you will never need to stress about leaving embarrassing scuff marks while striving to achieve that perfect score of 300!

Cost and Value
You really can’t go wrong with this pair of bowling shoes from Storm. The saddle shoe look is a classic style that has been jazzed up with the bright contrasting combination of white, black, pink and lavender. There are S8 microfibre slides on both shoes, and the outer soles are non-marking as well! We give bonus points for the fact that the slides are replaceable. This will save you a ton of money down the road if you just replace the slider pads versus the price of buying a whole new pair of shoes.

7. Brunswick Karma Ladies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
 Brunswick Karma Ladies
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Outsole
93
Materials
94
Style
91
Support
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$38.45
Pros:

Three colors to choose from

Striking electric blue/turquoise option

Easy slip-on & off design

Looks like boat shoes

Slider pads on both shoes

Cons:

Won't be warm in winter

Doesn't come in plain black or white

Are these even bowling shoes? It really is hard to tell if these are shoes made for hitting the lanes or for hanging out at the dock or yacht club on a leisurely weekend afternoon. The boat shoe style is a timeless classic, and the three color combinations to select from allow you to pick a shoe that really speaks to your personal tastes.

Cool Boat Shoe Style
These look far from a traditional bowling shoe! The slip-on boat shoe style is both trendy and timeless at the same time! While the design offers a ton of style, Brunswick hasn’t cheaped out on comfort and functionality either. The foam padded collar and tongue are supportive and comfortable, so your game will never be cut short by painful blisters. The uppers are all performance mesh, which is lightweight and breathable so your feet never get hot and sweaty.

Three Colors
There are three colors to choose from- denim, heathered grey or a shocking, electric blue shade called ‘chameleon’. If you prefer an understated look, the denim or grey colors will be easy to pair with all your favorite outfits. Or, spice things up and be adventurous. Why should kids have all the fun when it comes to footwear? You too can have just as much fun with a pair of electric blue boat bowling shoes (try to say that line 3x fast!).

Cost and Value
We really love the perfect combination of style and function that these shoes offer! Brunswick really checked all the boxes when they rolled the Karma shoe out. Timeless good looks that every lady desires are paired with comfort and durability that everyone needs! The uppers abe re lightweight and breathable, and these shoes can be worn by both left or right handed bowlers. We give a ton of bonus points because these shoes can easily be slipped on or off, saving you time and hassle of fussing with laces.

8. Dexter Men's SST Retro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
 Dexter Men's SST Retro
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Outsole
90
Materials
91
Style
90
Support
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

For serious or pro bowlers

Convertible slider pads

Leather slide-stop toe guard

White with red and black accents

Real leather uppers

Cons:

Hefty price tag

If there was a Cadillac of the bowling shoe world, then this product made by Dexter just might claim that title! Are you a serious bowler who needs an extra competitive edge? Are you striving to achieve that perfect score of 300 but coming up short every time? We suggest you check out this bowling shoe made for professionals and amateurs alike.

For Serious Bowlers
You can probably tell from the price tag that these shoes weren’t made with the casual bowler in mind. If you bowl four times a year, you may not need to invest this much money into a pair of shoes that get worn less than half a dozen times annually. That’s not to say you can’t make the investment if you want! These shoes have an interchangeable sole that makes them suitable to left or right handed bowlers. They allow you to customize your traction and slide for the perfect approach and strike, every time! There is also a leather toe-drag protector on this pair of shoes, which will help you with your slide and prevent any embarrassing falls.

Timeless and Classic Oxford Look
While these shoes are high performing, they also look great as well. The non-marking rubber outsoles offer a ton of traction for your push off. The uppers are made from 100% real leather, which is comfortable and long-lasting. We also like the understated color combination of white with black and red accents. These shoes aren’t boring and basic, but they won’t get more attention at the lanes than your winning score.

Cost and Value
We admit, these shoes are a bit hefty when it comes to the price. However, consider this. Would you play golf without golf clubs? I mean, you probably could right? You could use a tree branch or a hockey stick to hit the ball. However, you may not perform as well as you like and you could look a little funny out on the course swinging your tree branch around. For serious and pro athletes, investing in the right equipment is almost as important as showing up and training hard everyday. If you’re a serious bowler looking for a serious pair of shoes, then look no further than the SST Retro!

9. Pyramid Women's Rise

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Pyramid Women's Rise
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Outsole
90
Materials
90
Style
88
Support
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.99
Pros:

Hot pink and black color scheme is flashy

Stars and ribbons design

Classic saddle shoe look

For righties or lefties

Cons:

Too snazzy for some tastes

Few color combinations are as striking as hot pink and black. And the fun doesn’t stop there with this pair of bowling shoes made by Pyramid. Here we see great looks meet high-performance.

Hot Pink and Black Color Scheme
Why do adults have all the boring shoes? While you may not want a hot pink pair of shoes for everyday wear, why not have a little fun and be adventurous when it comes to your bowling apparel. The shooting star and streamer design further add to the quirky look of the Rise bowling shoe. Bonus points for the shiny hot pink toe, tongue and heel. If you aren’t a boomer on the lanes (bowling lingo for the person who throws all the big-hooking balls) at least your shoes can get you some much-needed street cred around the alley.

Rubber Heel is Non-Marking
The rubber heel on this pair of shoes really helps your approach. The approach is how you get to the foul line, and it can make or break your throw. With non-marking rubber heels, you get way more control and braking power, which will improve your approach thus improving your score as well!

Cost and Value
On top of the fantastic great look of these shoes, they also have a fantastic price that won’t break the bank. Made with high-quality stitching and metal eyelets for added durability, these shoes will keep you throwing strikes for many years to come. With slides on both the left and right shoe, these are a perfect pick for right-handers and southpaws alike!

10. Dexter Men's V Strap

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Dexter Men's V Strap
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Outsole
86
Materials
87
Style
86
Support
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.60
Pros:

Velcro is easy to use

No laces to trip over

Padded tongue and collar

Fully fabric lined

Uni-slide soles

Cons:

Maybe too frumpy for some tastes

Reviewers love the ease and convenience that velcro offers. Paired with traditional looks and enough comfort to keep you bee-bopping down the lane all day long, you really can’t go wrong with the V Strap bowling shoe.

Velcro Instead of Laces
It doesn’t seem fair that only children get to enjoy the simplicity and satisfaction that comes from owning a pair of velcro shoes. Not only are velcro easy to put on and off, they have no laces that you can trip over which is another plus on our list. Reviewers raved about the ease of use these shoes offered, especially those with arthritis or who struggle with finger dexterity issues. You will have more time to spend on your favorite pastime (bowling) when it only takes 30 seconds to get your bowling shoes on!

Fully Fabric Lined
While we love the convenience that velcro offers, there is more to making a great shoe than just convenience! The V Strap bowling shoes are fully fabric lined. This will eliminate any friction or chaffing which can cause painful blisters on your feet. The fabric lining will also prevent your foot from becoming too sweaty in the shoe, which could be another cause of blisters and rubs. We give bonus points for the padded tongue and collar, which add additional comfort elements to this product.

Cost and Value
Reviewers stated they would ‘definitely buy this shoe again’ and ‘ten out of ten would not hesitate to recommend to a friend’. While we all may not be in the market for a pair of velcro shoes past the age of 8, for those of us that are this is a perfect pick. Don’t let stiff or aging fingers prevent you from enjoying a good ole’ game of bowling. The V Strap shoe from Dexter makes bowling accessible to people of all ages and physical ability.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Obviously, any type of footwear needs to be comfortable, and your bowling shoes are no exception. You don't want to be distracted from your throws, or even worse have to cut your gameplay short because your feet are hurting from uncomfy bowling shoes. Many of the shoes we have researched are fully lined with fabric, to reduce chafing or friction that causes blisters. Some are made with performance mesh or canvas fabrics that are breathable and lightweight. No matter what style of bowling shoe you desire, from plain jane to steal-the-show-snazzy, you want to make sure they are comfortable first. Check out shoes with padded collars and tongues, these will offer not only more comfort, but extra stability and support as well.

Outsole

The outsole on bowling shoes can be broken down into two components- the actual sole itself which is usually made from non-marking rubber and the slider pad components that are made from microfiber. Most of the shoes on our list are for casual to intermediate bowlers and have slider pads on both feet, so they are a suitable choice whether you bowl right or left. For more professional level players, you want to look for a pair of bowling shoes with a convertible sole that can be custom picked for your desired level of traction and grip. Non-marking rubber is an important design feature to ensure you respect the lanes and don't leave them scuffed up.

Materials

Modern bowling shoes are as individual and stylish as our everyday street shoes! The materials you pick for your new pair of footwear will depend on a number of factors like personal preference and desired look. For a more conservative look, there are plenty of picks in basic white or black leather or synthetic. Leather is considered a premium material when it comes to footwear that many people have a preference for. There are also options that come in synthetic materials. There are plus sides to buying synthetic shoes as well. Mesh or canvas is easy to care for and will be lightweight and more breathable than leather varieties!

Style

If you think all bowling shoes look like the ancient pairs rented at the bowling alleys, well think again! With so many pairs to pick from, you can easily select a style that speaks to you! From monotone black to black with hot pink stars with ribbons, and everything in between, the style you choose for your new bowling shoes can be as individual as you are. Not trying to stand out? Opt for classic styles in black or white with minimal details. Looking to make more of a scene with your footwear than your bowling skills? There are pairs that look like boat shoes or skateboard shoes, so it is easy to look great and be great at bowling at the same time.

Support

While bowling isn't considered a high-intensity sport, it is a physical activity. You will want to make sure your shoes offer the proper support to avoid any leg or ankle injuries. Lace-up shoes allow you to customize the fit and offer a ton of stability. Velcro is convenient to put on and off, but may be less supportive than a full lace-up style. Likewise, slip on styles will be lower in the support category, but higher in the style factor. For a casual bowler whose just having a friendly game, a slip-on pair will do just fine.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Outsole
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Expert Tip 1

For the best accuracy, make sure you fully extend your arm when you are done your armswing. You want your elbow to be above your shoulder as you follow through towards your target.

Expert Tip 2

Just like street shoes can damage the lanes, so can spills from food and drink. So as not to be disrespectful or get in trouble, make sure you keep all your refreshments in the appropriate area, or, save your eating and drinking for after the game.

Other Factors to Consider

Overall Fit

Shoes are one of those things that have to fit well or they just suck to wear. Too small and you will have cramped toes and risk getting painful blisters. Too big? Well, your shoes will be cumbersome to walk around in and flop around on the end of your legs annoyingly. Bowling shoes are no exception- a good fit is paramount to your enjoyment and comfort.

Advanced Features

For the casual or friendly bowler, worrying about bowling shoes with a bunch of advanced features like interchangeable soles or braking heels isn't necessary. However if you are a serious bowler or looking to become one, there are shoes out there designed to make your job easier.

Breathability

Feet can get sweaty and it is important to consider that when you buy new shoes. Shoes made from a breathable fabric like mesh or canvas will help your feet stay cool. Since bowling isn't a super high impact sport, breathability isn't as crucial of a factor as when buying running shoes.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why can't I wear my street shoes for bowling?

a:

A lot of time, care and money go into keeping the bowling lanes in pristine condition. They are made from expensive hardwood and have to be kept regularly oiled. Wearing outdoor shoes on the lanes will track in dirt, dust, debris, and grime that can affect the slidey finish. Water and other liquids from the outdoors are also equally as damaging.

q: Why are bowling shoes made to slide?

a:

For the most precise throw, you want a good approach to the lane. Your approach is all about the slide- you want to stay well balanced on your slide leg and in the optimal position to the throw the ball with speed, power, and accuracy.

q: What is a strike?

a:

A strike is bowling lingo for knocking down all the pins on your first effort.

q: What is a turkey?

a:

In bowling lingo, a turkey refers to a player scoring consecutive strikes in a row. (A strike is when a player knocks down all the pins on their first throw).

q: How much should I spend on bowling shoes?

a:

Unless you are a pro or in a serious league and spend many hours on the lanes a week, you won't need to invest a fortune to get a great quality pair of bowling shoes. For well under $100 you can save yourself the gross factor of renting shoes the next time you decide to hit up your local bowling alley.

q: Should I wear socks with bowling shoes?

a:

This is really up to your personal preference, however, we do suggest light, athletic style socks be worn. Socks will help keep your feet from getting too sweaty, and also keep your bowling shoes smelling fresh. Remember not to go too thick with your sock selection to keep the good fit and comfort of your shoes.